Nov. 22, 2020 Held

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

Election for Burkinabe Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,972,590
Valid Votes:2,849,535
Invalid Votes:123,055

Vote Share by Candidate:

Roch Marc Christian KABORÉ1,645,229


Eddie KOMBOIGO442,693


Zephirin DIABRÉ354,988

Election Results Modified: May 29, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:       

  • The office of President of Burkina Faso

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Roch Marc Christian KABORÉ (since 29 December 2015)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Christophe Joseph Marie DABIRÉ (since 24 January 2019)
  • Assembly: Burkina Faso has a National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 127 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) 127 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

**In the National Assembly, 111 members are elected by proportional representation in 45 multi-member constituencies having between 2 and 9 seats, and 16 members are elected by proportional representation in a nationwide constituency.


Main candidates in this election:

* The Constitutional Court affirmed 13 candidates for this race.

  • Roch Marc Christian Kaboré
    • Party: People's Movement for Progress (MPP)
  • Tahirou Barry
    • Party: MCR
  • Zéphirin Diabré
    • Party: Union for Progress and Change (UPC)
  • Me Farama Ségui Ambroise
    • Party: OPA-BF
  • Monique Yeli Kam
    • Party: MRF
  • Ablassé Ouédraogo
    • Party: otherwise Faso
  • Eddie Komboïgo
    • Party: Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP)
  • Gilbert Noël Ouédraogo
    • Party: ADF-RDA
  • Kadré Desiré Ouédraogo
    • Party: Acting together
  • Do Pascal Sessouma
    • Party: Burkina vision
  • Abdoulaye Soma
    • Party: Soleil d'Avenir
  • Claude Aimé Tassembedo
    • Party: Independent
  • Yacouba Isaac Zida
    • Party: MPS
Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Burkina Faso

With Participation Rates