May 30, 2020 Held



Election for Niue Fono Ekepule (Niuean Assembly)


Election Results Modified: Apr 03, 2023

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 20 seats in the Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General of New Zealand Dame Patsy REDDY (since 28 September 2016)
  • Head of Government: Premier Toke TALAGI (since 18 June 2008)
  • Assembly: Niue has a unicameral Niue Assembly (Niue Fono Ekepule) with 20 seats, 14 of which are elected by village constituencies and 6 nationally. The Assembly elects the Premier.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Premier is elected by the Assembly to serve a 3-year term.
  • In the Niue Assembly (Niue Fono Ekepule), 6 members are elected by block vote on a common role to serve 3-year terms and 14 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies, representing the 14 villages of Niue, to serve 3-year terms.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Independents*

*There are no political parties in Niue.

Election Modified: Apr 03, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Niue

With Participation Rates