Nov. 27, 2019 Confirmed


Republic of Namibia

Election for Namibian Presidency

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The office of President of Namibia

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Hage GEINGOB (since March 21, 2015)
  • Head of Government: President Hage GEINGOB (since March 21, 2015)
  • Assembly: Namibia has a bicameral Legislature consisting of the National Council with 26 seats and the National Assembly with 96 seats.

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Council 26 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms.*
  • In the National Assembly, 96 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 6 non-voting members are appointed by the president.**

* Two members are chosen from each of the 13 regional councils by members of those councils.

** There are 13 multi-member constituencies corresponding to Namibia's regions.

Main Candidates in this Election[1]:

  • Candidate: Apius AUCHAB
    • Party: United Democratic Front of Namibia
  • Candidate: Hage G. GEINGOB
    • Party: SWAPO of Namibia
  • Candidate: Tangeni C. IIJAMBO
    • Party: SWANU of Namibia
  • Candidate: Panduleni F. B ITULA
    • Party: Independent Candidate
  • Candidate: Henry MUDGE
    • Party: Republican Party of Namibia
  • Candidate: Esther U. MUINJANGUE
    • Party: National Unity Democratic Organization
  • Candidate: Jan M. E. MUKWIILONGO
    • Party: Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters
  • Candidate: Kamboto R. M. KAVEKOTORA
    • Party: Rally for Democracy and Progress
  • Candidate: Ignatius N. SHIXWAMENI
    • Party: All People’s Party
  • Candidate: Bernardus SWARTBOOI
    • Party: Landless People’s Movement
  • Candidate: McHenry VENAANI
    • Party: Popular Democratic Movement

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 2,495,000[2]
  • Registered Voters: 1,358,468 (2019)[3]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 1,286,000[4]
  • Is Namibia a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Namibia ratified CEDAW: Yes (23 November 1992)[5]
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election:
  • Number of Female Legislators: 48 (46%)[6]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 129[7]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low[8]

Disability Data:

  • Is Namibia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (25 April 2007)[9]
  • Has Namibia ratified CRPD: Yes 4 December 2007)[10]
  • Population with a disability: 331,846 (2019 est.)[11]



Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Namibia

With Participation Rates