Oct. 13, 2019 Held


Republic of Poland

Election for Senat (Polish Senate)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:18,677,930
Valid Votes:18,201,348
Invalid Votes:476,582

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Law and Justice (Politiol juswisc) 48 - 8,110,193


Civic Coalition (Koalicja Obywatelska) 43 - 6,490,306


Independents (Independents) 4 - 187,014


Polish Coalition (Koalicja Polska) 3 - 1,041,909


The Left (Lewica) 2 - 415,745

Election Results Modified: Nov 06, 2019

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The 100 seats in the Senate, and all 460 seats of the Sejm

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Andrzej Duda (since 2015)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minster Mateusz Morawiecki (since 2017)
  • Assembly: Poland has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 100 seats and the Sejm with 460 seats.

Electoral System:

Main Parties and Coalitions in this Election[2][3]:

  • Law and Justice Party (Prawo i Sprawiedliwość, PiS)
    • Leader: Jarosław Kaczyński
    • Sejm seats won in last election: 240[4]
    • Senate seats won in last election: 61
  • Civic Coalition (Koalicja Obywatelska, KO)
    • The coalition was created by created by the Civic Platform and Modern parties. The Greens and the Silesian Electoral Agreement have also joined the coalition. [5]
    • Leader: Grzegorz Schetyna
    • Sejm seats won in last election: 157[6]
    • Senate seats won in last election:  34
  • Polish Coalition (Koalicja Polska)
    • Polish Coalition is represented in Parliament by Polish People's Party - Polish Coalition club (15 MPs from PSL, 4 from UED, 3 independent MPs and one senator from PSL) and Kukiz'15 club.[7]
    • Leader:                 Władysław Kosiniak-Kamysz
    • Sejm seats won in last election:  38[8]
    • Senate seats won in last election:  1
  • The Left (Lewica)
    • The alliance consists of the Democratic Left Alliance (SLD), Spring and Razem[9].
    • Leader: Włodzimierz Czarzasty
    • Sejm seats won in last election:  0
    • Senate seats won in last election:  0
  • Confederation (Konfederacja)
    • The coalition was established in 2018 by KORWiN and the National Movement party.[10]
    • Leader: Janusz Korwin-Mikke
    • Sejm seats won in last election:  5[11]
    • Senate seats won in last election:  0
  • German Minority Electoral Committee (Komitet Wyborczy Mniejszość Niemiecka, MN)
    • Leader: Ryszard Galla
    • Sejm seats won in last election:  1
    • Senate seats won in last election:  0

Population and Registered Voters:

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 19,823,602 (July 2018 est.)[14]
  • Is Poland a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (29 May 1980) [15]
  • Has Poland ratified CEDAW: Yes (30 July 1980)[16]
  • Gender Quota: Yes[17]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 14 (14%)
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 33[18]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very low (17.4%)[19]

Disability Data:

  • Is Poland a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)[20]
  • Has Poland ratified CRPD: Yes (25 September 2012)[21]
  • Population with a disability: 5,784,328 (according to World Health Organization’s 15% estimate)[22]



[2] A full list of committees with intent to submit candidates for both the Sejm and Senate can be found here: https://wybory.gov.pl/sejmsenat2019/en/komitety

[3] Following the last parliamentary elections in October 2015, candidates from six lists were elected to the Sejm and from seven lists to the Senat.

[4] In 2015 parliament election, the Law and Justice party won 235 seats in Sejm. However, during the parliamentary term few MPs had left their parties and joined Law and Justice. Therefore, Law and Justice party holds 240 seats now.

[5] https://forsal.pl/artykuly/1416590,po-i-nowoczesna-polacza-sily-na-wybory-parlamentarne.html

[6] In 2015, the Civic Platform won 138 seats and Modern party 28 seats (166 in total).  In March 2018, Modern and Civic Platform formed the Civic Coalition electoral alliance. Currently, Civic Coalition has 155 seats in Polish Sejm.

[7] https://wiadomosci.radiozet.pl/Polska/Polityka/PSL-chce-koalicji-z-PO.-Bez-SLD-i-Wiosny

[8] In 2015, Kukiz’15 club won 42 seats and PSL 16 seats (58 in total). After few changes, currently Kukiz’15 club has 16 seats and PSL 22 seats (38 in total).

[9] https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/can-europe-make-it/whats-left-in-poland-can-the-three-tenors-led-by-adrian-zandberg-take-on-polands-duopoly/

[11] In the 2015 parliamentary election, the National Movement cooperated with Kukiz'15, whose 5 of 42 seats were held by National Movement members. In April 2016 National Movement management decided to leave Kukiz's movement and MPs joined different political association. Currently, after leaving Kukiz’15 club, 4 MPs formed association “Konfederacja” in Polish Sejm.

[14] Ibid.

[16] Ibid.

[21] Ibid.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Poland

With Participation Rates