Oct. 6, 2019 Held


Tunisian Republic

Election for Majlis Nawwab ash-Sha'ab (Tunisian Assembly of People's Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,946,628
Valid Votes:2,870,521
Invalid Votes:76,107

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Ennahda Movement (Ennahda Movement) 52

Heart of Tunisia (Au cœur de la Tunisie) 38

Democratic Current ( التيّار الديمُقراط) 22

Dignity Coalition (Dignity Coalition) 21

Free Destourian Party (الحزب الدستوري الح) 17

People's Movement (حركة الشعب) 16

Tahya Tounes (Vive la Tunisie) 14

Machrouu Tounes (مشروع تونس‎) 4

Nidaa Tounes (Nidaa Tounes) 3

Errahma (Errahma) 3

Tunisian Alternative (البديل التونسي‎) 3

Republican People's Union (Union populaire républicaine) 3

Afek Tounes (Afek Tounes) 1

Green League (Green League) 1

Current of Love (Current of Love) 1

Farmers' Voice Party (حزب صوت الفلاحين) 1

Aïch Tounsi (Aïch Tounsi) 1

Popular Front (Popular Front) 1

Democratic and Social Union (Democratic and Social Union) 1

Socialist Destourian Party (Socialist Destourian Party) 1

Election Results Modified: Oct 16, 2019

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 217 seats in the Assembly of the Representatives of the People.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Interim President Mohamed ENNACEUR (since 25 July 2019)*
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Youssef CHAHED (since 27 August 2016)
  • Assembly: Tunisia has a unicameral the Assembly of the Representatives of the People (Majlis Nuwwāb ash-Sha‘b) with 217 seats..

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is chosen by the parliament, after legislative elections, is usually the leader of the majority party (or coalition) and is asked to form a government by the president.
  • In the Assembly of the Representatives of the People, 217 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system with the largest remainder method. **

**There are 27 domestic constituencies and six out-of-country constituencies. The electoral law requires gender parity on the lists, and all candidates lists presented must alternatively rank women and men. The law also requires youth representation by stipulating that candidate lists in any constituency which has at least four seats must include a male and female candidate no older than 35 among the first four candidates.

Main parties in this race:*

  • Party: Nidaa Tounes (Arabic: حركة نداء تونس‎, French: Appel de la Tunisie)
    • Chairperson: Hafedh Caïd ESSEBSI
    • Seats won in last election: 86
  • Party: Ennahda Movement (Arabic: حزب حركة النهضة‎, French: Mouvement Ennahdha)
    • Leader: Rached GHANNOUCHI
    • Seats won in last election: 69
  • Party: Free Patriotic Union (Arabic: الاتحاد الوطني الحرّ‎; French: Union patriotique libre)
    • Leader: Slim RIAHI
    • Seats won in last election: 16
  • Party: Popular Front (Arabic: الجبهة الشعبية لتحقيق أهداف الثورة‎; French: Front populaire pour la réalisation des objectifs de la révolution)
    • Leader: Hamma HAMMAMI
    • Seats won in last election: 15
  • Party: Afek Tounes (Arabic: آفاق تونس‎])
    • Leader: Yassine BRAHIM
    • Seats won in last election: 8
  • Party: Congress for the Republic (Arabic: المؤتمر من أجل الجمهورية‎, el-Mo’tamar min ajl el-Jomhūriya ; French: Congrès pour la République)
    • Leader: Moncef MARZOUKI
    • Seats won in last election: 4
  • Party: Democratic Current (Arabic: التيّار الديمُقراطي‎)
    • Leader: Ghazi CHAOUACHI
    • Seats won in last election: 3
  • Party: People's Movement (Arabic: حركة الشعب‎; French: Mouvement du peuple)
    • Leader: Zouhair MAGHZAOUI
    • Seats won in last election: 3
  • Party: National Destourian Initiative (Arabic: المبادرة الوطنية الدستورية‎, French: Initiative nationale destourienne)
    • Leader: Kamel MORJANE
    • Seats won in last election: 3

* The Tunisian political field has more than 220 parties, and parties only need to win three percent of the vote to enter parliament[1].

Population and Voter Registration:

  • Population: 11,516,189 (July 2018 est.)[2]
  • Registered Voters: 5,369,843 (2018 est.)[3]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 5,791,328 (2018 est.)[4]
  • Is Tunisia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (since 24 July 1980)[5]
  • Has Tunisia ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 September 1985)[6]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes: “Legislated Candidate Quotas” in the National Constituent Assembly[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election: 2.
  • Number of Female Legislators: 78 (36%) of 217 seats in the National Constituent Assembly[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 90[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Ranking: 22nd out of 86 non-OECD countries (latest rankings are from 2012)[10]

Disability Data:

  • Is Tunisia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)[11]
  • Has Tunisia ratified CRPD: Yes (02 April 2008)[12]
  • Population with a disability: 1,655,584 (according to World Health Organization’s 15% estimate)[13]



[4] Ibid.

[5] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[6] Ibid.

[7] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=220

[9] http://www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/librarypage/hdr/2014-human-development-report/

[10] http://genderindex.org/ranking

[12] Ibid.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Tunisia

With Participation Rates