Oct. 20, 2019 Held


Plurinational State of Bolivia

Election for Bolivian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:6,460,515
Valid Votes:6,137,671
Invalid Votes:322,844

Vote Share by Candidate:

Evo Morales2,862,786


Carlos Mesa2,230,689


Chi Hyun Chung536,852


Óscar Ortiz Antelo259,123


Felix Patzi76,457


Virginio Lema42,062


Ruth Nina39,363


Víctor Hugo Cárdenas24,971


Israel Rodriquez23,462

Election Results Modified: Feb 21, 2024

General Information


At Stake in this Election:       

  • The office of the President of Bolivia.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (since 22 January 2006)*
  • Head of Government: President Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (since 22 January 2006)
  • Assembly: Bolivia has a bicameral Plurinational Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa Plurinacional) consisting of the Chamber of Senators (Camara de Senadores) with 36 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados) with 130 seats.

*The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by majority vote to serve a 5-year term. A candidate must receive at least 50% of the vote, or 40% of the vote and 10% more than the second candidate to be elected. Otherwise, a second round will be on December 15th with the top two finishers to determine the winner.
  • In the Chamber of Senators (Camara de Senadores) 36 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms*.
  • In the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados), 70 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms, 53 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 7 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.[1]**

* Each of the nine Bolivian states elects four Senators. Allocation is by the D'Hondt method. (Before December 2009, there were three Senators per state, and no party could win more than two of the three seats in each.)

** PR seats are apportioned to each state in proportion to population, and these are allocated to parties in proportion to their respective shares of the Presidential vote in each state. Seven reserved indigenous seats are apportioned to non-contiguous, rural areas in seven of the nine states. Voters who declare themselves indigenous may vote for an indigenous deputy instead of in the regular, single-member district election.

Main Candidates in this Election[2]:

  • Candidate: Juan Evo MORALES Ayma
    • Party: Movement Toward Socialism/Movimiento al Socialismo (MAS)
  • Candidate: Carlos MESA
    • Party: Civic Community/Comunidad Ciudadana (CC)
  • Candidate: Óscar Ortiz ANTELO
    • Party: Democrat Social Movement/Movimiento Demócrata Social (MDS)
  • Candidate: Víctor Hugo CÁRDENAS
    • Party: Solidarity Civic Unity/Unidad Cívica Solidaridad (UCS)
  • Candidate: Chi Hyun CHUNG
    • Party: Christian Democratic Party/Partido Demócrata Cristiano (PDC)
  • Candidate: Virginio LEMA
    • Party: Revolutionary Nationalist Movement/Movimiento Nacionalista Revolucionario (MNR)
  • Candidate: Oscar ORTIZ
  • Candidate: Israel RODRIQUEZ
    • Party: The Front For Victory/Frente Para La Victoria (FPV)
  • Candidate: Ruth NINA
    • Party: National Action Party of Bolivia/Bolivian National Action Party (PAN BOL)
  • Candidate: Felix PATZI
    • Party: Third System Movement/Movimiento Tercer Sistema (MTS)

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 11,513,000[3]
  • Registered Voters: 5,973,901 (2014 est).

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 5,733,000[4]
  • Is Bolivia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (30 May 1980)[5]
  • Has Bolivia ratified CEDAW: Yes (8 Jun 1990)[6]
  • Gender Quota: Yes[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election:
  • Number of Female Legislators: 69 in the Cámara de Diputados / Chamber of Deputies (53%), and 17 in the Cámara de Senadores / Chamber of Senators (47%)[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 118[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low[10]

Disability Data:

  • Is Bolivia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (13 Aug 2007)[11]
  • Has Bolivia ratified CRPD: Yes (16 Nov 2009)[12]
  • Population with a disability: 1,620,132 (est. 2019)[13]

[1] A new law, approved in October 2013, created a new set of seven parliamentary seats for indigenous people. http://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/-Bolivia-2014-Election-Preview-and-Candidates-20140822-0005.html

[4] Ibid.

[6] Ibid.

[8] Ibid.

[12] Ibid.


Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Bolivia

With Participation Rates