Nov. 14, 2018 Held


Republic of Fiji

Election for Fijian Parliament


Cast Votes:458,532
Valid Votes:454,335
Invalid Votes:4,197


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

FijiFirst 27 - 227,241


Social Democratic Liberal Party 21 - 181,072


National Federation Party 3 - 33,515


Unity Fiji Party - - 6,896


HOPE Party - - 2,811


Fiji Labor Party - - 2,800


More Info:

At stake in this election:  

  • All 51 Parliamentary seats

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jioji KONROTE
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Voreqe “Frank” BAINIMARAMA
  • Assembly: Under Fiji’s 2013 Constitution, a parliamentary system was established. Parliament comprises of 51 seats directly elected by Fiji’s citizens to four-year terms. The party which wins the most seats in Parliament forms a majority government, or a coalition, and elects a prime minister from the elected parliamentarians.   

Description of electoral system:

  • The 51 parliamentary seats will be allotted through a multi-member open list system of proportional representation. There will be only one electoral district.
  • According to the Constitution, all political parties and independent candidates must obtain a least 5% of all votes to win a seat in Parliament.
  • The Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition will each nominate one person for the Presidency. Members of Parliament then vote between the two nominations to select the President. The President holds office for three-year terms for a maximum of 2 terms.
  • The Prime Minister will be the leader of the political party that has won more than 50% of the total number of parliamentary seats.

Political entities in this electoral race:

  • Party: Social Democratic Liberal Party (SODELPA)
    • Leader: Sitiveni L RABUKA
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 15
  • Party: FijiFirst
    • Leader: Josaia Voreqe (Frank) BAINIMARAMA
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 32
  • Party: National Federation Party (NFP)
    • Leader: Biman PRASAD
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 3
  • Coalition: Fiji Labour Party (FLP) / Freedom Alliance Party
    • Leader: Mahendra CHAUDHRY
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 0
  • Party: Unity Fiji Party
    • Leader: Savenaca NARUBE
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 0
  • Party: People’s Democratic Party (PDP FIJI)
    • Leader: Lynda TABUYA
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 0
  • Party: Freedom Alliance
    • Leader: Jagath KARUNARATNE
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 0
  • Party: HOPE Party:
    • Leader: Tupou DRAUNIDALO
    • Seats won in last parliamentary elections: 0

Population and Voter Registration:

  • Population: 912,241 (2018 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 634,120 (2018)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 449,504 (2018 est.)
  • Is Fiji a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Fiji ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (28 August 1995)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 8
  • Human Development Index Position: 92 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Fiji a signatory to CRPD: Yes (2 June 2010)
  • Has Fiji ratified CRPD: No
  • Population with a disability: 136,408 (2018 est.)