May 21, 2019 Held


Republic of Malawi

Election for Malawian National Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:5,031,264
Valid Votes:5,031,264
Invalid Votes:74,719

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Progressive Party (Democratic Progressive Party) 62

Independents (Independents) 55

Malawi Congress Party 55

United Democratic Front (United Democratic Front) 10

People's Party (People's Party) 5

United Transformation Unit (United Transformation Unit) 4

Alliance for Democracy (Alliance for Democracy) 1

Election Results Modified: Jul 30, 2019

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • 193 seats in the National Assembly
  • * The above seats sum to 192. One seat in Lilongwe, the capital, has not been filled due to the death of a candidate. An election for that seat will be held later this year.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Peter MUTHARIKA
  • Head of Government: President Peter MUTHARIKA
  • Assembly: Malawi has a unicameral National Assembly with 193 seats.

Electoral System:

  • In the National Assembly, 193 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in this Election:

  • Party: Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
    • Leader: Peter MUTHARIKA
    • Seats won in last election: 51
  • Party: United Transformation Movement (UTM)
    • Leader: Saulos CHILIMA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Malawi Congress Party (MCP)
    • Leader: Lazurus CHAKWERA
    • Seats won in last election: 48
  • Party: United Democratic Front (UDF)
    • Leader: Atupele MULUZI
    • Seats won in last election: 14
  • Party: People’s Party (PP)
    • Leader: Joyce BANDA
    • Seats won in last election: 26
  • Party: Alliance for Democracy (AFORD)
    • Leader: Enoch CHIHANA
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Party: Democratic People’s Congress (DEPECO)
    • Leader: Chris DAZA
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Freedom Party (FP)
    • Leader: Khumbo KACHALI
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Umodzi Party (UP)
    • Leader: John CHISI
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Tikonze People’s Movement (TPM)
    • Leader: Cassim CHILUMPHA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Mbakuwaku Movement for Development Party (MMD)
    • Leader: Peter KUWANI
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: People’s Transformation Party (PETRA)
    • Leader: Kamuzu CHIBAMBO
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: National Salvation Front (NASAF)
    • Leader: Loudon Malingamoyo PHIRI
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Independents:
    • Seats won in last election: 52

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 19,718,743 (2019 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 8,525.538

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 9,946,712 (2019 est.)
  • Is Malawi a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Malawi ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (12 March 1987)
  • Gender Quota: No, but there are political parties with voluntary gender quotas
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 32 of 193 (16.6%) in the National Assembly (following the 2014 elections)
  • Human Development Index Position: 171 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2019)

Disability Data:

  • Is Malawi a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 September 2007)
  • Has Malawi ratified CRPD: Yes (27 August 2009)
  • Population with a disability: 2,694,705 (est.)
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Malawi

With Participation Rates