Oct. 30, 2016 Held



Election for Sakartvelos Parlamenti (Georgian Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:886,996
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Georgian Dream (ქართული ოცნება–დემოკრატიული საქართველო, k'art'uli ots'neba–demokratiuli sak'art'velo) 48 621,893

Topadze - Industrialists, Our Fatherland (Topadze - Industrialists, Our Fatherland) 1 12,405

Independents (Independents) 1 31,545

United National Movement 212,984

Free Democrats (Free Democrats) 8,169

Election Results Modified: Nov 07, 2016

General Information

Georgia: Parliament, 30 October 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 150 seats in the Sakartvelos Parlamenti (Parliament)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Giorgi MARGVELASHVILI (since 17 November 2013)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Giorgi KVIRIKASHVILI (since 30 December 2015)
  • Assembly: Georgia has a unicameral Sakartvelos Parlameti (Parliament) composed of 150 seats with members serving 4-year terms. 

Description of electoral system:

  • In Parliament, 77 members are directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by proportional representation vote, with a 5% electoral threshold and 73 are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote.

Last Election:

  • Parliamentary elections were held on 8 October 2016. This second round of voting will be held to determine seats that were undecided in the first round. 50 seats are at stake in the second round of voting. 

Main parties in the election:[2]

  • Georgia Dream – Democratic Georgia/K’art’uli ots’neba – Demokratiuli Sak’art’velo
    • Leader: Irakli GARIBASHVILI
    • Seats won in last election 85
  • Republican Party/Sak’art’velos Respublikuri Partia
    • Leader: Khatuna SAMNIDZE
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Free Democrats/T’avisup’ali Demokratebi
    • Leader: Irakli ALASANIA
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • United National Movement/Ertiani Natsionaluri Modzraoba[3]
    • Leader: Davit BAKRADZE
    • Seats won in last election: 65
  • Democratic Movement - United Georgia / Demokratiuli Modzraoba — Ert’iani Sak’art’velo[4]
    • Leader: Nino BURJANADZE
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Industry Will Save Georgia/Mretsveloba Gadaarchens Sak'art'velos
    • Leader: Giorgi TOPADZE
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Alliance of Georgian Patriots/Sakartvelos Patriotta Aliansi
    • Leader: Irma INASHVILI
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • State for the People Movement[5]
    • Leader: Paata BURCHULADZE
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 4,931,226 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 3,537,719 (2003)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 2,573,058 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Georgia a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Georgia ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (26 October 1994)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 18 (12%)

·         Human Development Index Position: 76

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium

Disability Data:

·         Is Georgia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (10 July 2009)

·         Has Georgia ratified CRPD: Yes (13 March 2014)

·         Population with a disability: 739,684 (2015)

[1] The Georgia dream coalition was composed of Georgia Dream – Democratic Georgia, the Conservative Party of Georgia, Industry will Save Georgia, Republican Party of Georgia, Our Georgia – Free Democrats, and National Forum. Some of these parties have broken off and will contest the 2016 elections independently.

[2] In total, there are 24 election subjects competing in the elections according to the Central Election Commission.

[3] The United National Movement has formed a bloc with the European Georgia party.

[4] The Democratic Movement has formed a bloc with the United Democratic Movement.

[5] The State for the People Movement is a coalition composed of the State for the People party, the New Political Center Girchi, New Rights Party, and New Georgia. 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Georgia

With Participation Rates