Oct. 5, 2016 Held


Country of Curacao

Election for Staten van Curacao (Curacaoan Estates)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:79,060
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Partido MAN (Movementu Antia Nobo) (Partido MAN) 4 12,822

Partido Alternativa REAL (Partido Alternativa REAL) 4 11,945

Movementu Futuro Korsou (Movementu Futuro Korsou) 4 12,676

Korsou di Nos Tur (Koursou di Nos Tur) 3 8,250

Partido Nashonal di Pueblo (Partido Nashonal di Pueblo) 2 6,992

Pueblo Soberano (Pueblo Soberano) 2 5,293

Un Korsou Hustu (A Just Curacao) 1 4,822

Movementu Progresivo (Movementu Progresivo) 1 4,137

Partido Pro Korsou (Partido Pro Korsou) 1,137

Partido Alianso Sosial (Partido Alianso Sosial) 3,445

Partido Adelanto Inovativo Solidario (Partido Adelanto Inovativo Solidario) 3,651

Partido Demokrat (Partido Demokrat) 1,966

Movementu Kousa Prome (Movementu Kousa Prome) 1,924

Election Results Modified: Oct 06, 2016

General Information

Curaçao: Parliamentary Election, 5 October 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 21 seats in the Staten van Curaçao (Estates of Curaçao)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King WILLEM-ALEXANDER (since 30 April 2013); represented by Governor Lucille A. GEORGE-WOUT (since 4 November 2013)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Bernard WHITEMAN (since 1 September 2015)[1]
  • Assembly: Curaçao has a unicameral Staten van Curaçao (Estates of Curaçao) composed of 21 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the Estates of Curaçao are directly elected by proportional representation vote to serve 4-year terms.

Note: To be eligible to contest parliamentary elections, political parties that are not represented in parliament are required to compete in a pre-election round of voting and must receive at least 1% of the valid votes cast in the previous parliamentary election.

Last Election:

  • Elections were last held on 19 October 2012. Pueblo Soberano and Movementu Futuro Korsou won 5 seats each, Partido Antia Restruktura and Partido pa Adelanto/Inovashon Soshal each won 4, Movishon Antia Nobo won 2, and Partido Nashonal di Pueblo won 1.

Main parties in the election:

  • Partido Nashonal di Pueblo (PNP)
    • Leader: Humphrey DAVELAAR
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Pueblo Soberano (PS)
    • Leader: Jaime CORDOBA
    • Seats won in last election: 5
  • Partido Alternativa REAL (PAR)
    • Leader: Zita JESUS-LEITO
    • Seats won in last election: 4
  • Partido Adelanto Inovativo Solidario (PAIS)
    • Leader: Alex ROSARIA
    • Seats won in last election: 4
  • Movementu Futuro Kórsou (MFK)
    • Leader: Gerrit SCHOTTE
    • Seats won in last election: 5
  • Partido MAN (Movementu Antia Nobo)
    • Leader: Hensley KOEIMAN
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Partido Demokrat
    • Leader: Geraldine SCHEPERBOER-PARIS
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Un Kórsou Hustu (A Just Curaçao)
    • Leader: Omayra LEEFLANG
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Partido Alianso Sosial (PAS)
    • Leader: Charles COOPER
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Movementu Kousa Promé
    • Leader: Rene ROSALIA
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Partido Pro Kórsou
    • Leader: Ivar ASJES
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Kórsou di Nos Tur
    • Leader: Amparo DOS SANTOS
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Movementu Progresivo
    • Leader: Marilyn MOSES
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 148,406 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 116,857 (2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 77,393 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Curaçao a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Curaçao ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 5 (23.81%)

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Curaçao a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Curaçao ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 22,260 (est.)

[1] Former Prime Minister Ivar ASJES resigned 31 August 2015. 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Curacao

With Participation Rates