June 6, 2016 Held

Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia

Election for Saint Lucian House of Representatives


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:84,302
Valid Votes:82,079
Invalid Votes:2,223

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

United Workers Party 11 - 46,165


Saint Lucia Labor Party 6 - 37,172


Lucian People's Movement (Lucian People's Movement) - - 155


Independents (Independents) - - 810

Election Results Modified: Jun 08, 2016

General Information

Saint Lucia: Parliament, 6 June 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 17 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Dame Pearlette LOUISY (since September 1997)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kenny Davis ANTHONY (since 30 November 2011)
  • Assembly: Saint Lucia has a bicameral Parliament composed of the Senate, consisting of 11 seats, and the House of Assembly with 17 seats.  

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the House of Assembly are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 5-year terms. Members of the Senate are appointed by the Governor General.

Last Election:

  • Elections for the House of Assembly were last held on 28 November 2011. The Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP) won 11 seats and the United Workers Party (UWP) took the remaining 6 seats.

Note: Prime Minister ANTHONY called for a dissolution of parliament and early elections to be held.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP)
    • Leader: Kenny ANTHONY
    • Seats won in last election: 11
  • United Workers Party (UWP)
    • Leader: Allen CHASTANET
    • Seats won in last election: 6
  • Lucian People's Movement (LPM)
    • Leader: Therold PRUDENT
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 163,922 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 150,996 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 84,061 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Saint Lucia a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Saint Lucia ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (8 October 1982)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 5 (17.86%)[1]

·         Human Development Index Position: 89 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Saint Lucia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (22 September 2011)

·         Has Saint Lucia ratified CRPD: No

·         Population with a disability: 24,588


[1] There are 3 women in the House of Assembly (16.67%) and 2 in the Senate (18.18%). 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Saint Lucia

With Participation Rates