July 24, 2015 Held


Republic of Burundi

Election for Inama Nkenguzamateka (Burundian Senate)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,856,112
Valid Votes:2,300,463
Invalid Votes:555,649

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Council for the Defense of Democracy – Forces for the Defense of Democracy (Conseil National Pour la Défense de la Démocratie–Forces pour la Défense de la Démocratie) 77 - 1,721,629


Independents, Hope of the Burundians (IEB) (Independants, Espoir des Burundais) 21 - 318,717


Union for National Progress (Union pour le Progrès national) 2 - - 71,189


Others (Others) - - 188,928

Election Results Modified: Sep 09, 2015

General Information

At stake in this election:      

  • The 34* seats in the Senate. 

*Additional seats may be added to meet required ethnic and gender quotas.  There are currently 41 Senators.[1] 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Pierre NKURUNZIZA
  • Head of Government: President Pierre NKURUNZIZA
  • Assembly: Burundi has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement / Inama Nkenguzamateka) consisting of the Senate and the National Assembly (Assemblee National / Inama Nshingamateka).

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Senate 34 members are indirectly elected by an electoral college to serve 5-year terms.* In the National Assembly (Assemblee National) 100 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* There are 17 constituencies with 2 Senators each, one must be Hutu and one Tutsi. Candidates are elected through an electoral college composed of members of municipal councils from the province that corresponds to the constituency. In each province, the two representatives must come from different ethnic communities. Candidates are elected through a super-majority, three-round system. The first two rounds require a super-majority (two-thirds of the votes) for a candidate to be elected. If the first two rounds do not produce a winner, a third round is held for the top two candidates where a plurality vote determines the winner. Three seats are appointed to members of the Twa ethnic group. Additionally, former heads of state have reserved seats. Women must comprise 30% of all elected members. If this percentage is not reached through, the Independent National Electoral Commission will appoint a number of “co-opted Senators” to reach the quota. This is done through assigning each party that reached 5% of the votes cast, an equal number of women seats until the quota is met. The electoral commission consults with the relevant parties in selecting these senators.

** Candidates and parties run in 17 multi-member constituencies. Parties present a closed-list of candidates on each ballot. The Constitution of Burundi stipulates that 60% of the Deputies be from the Hutu ethnic group, and 40% be from the Tutsi ethnic group. Three seats are co-opted to members of the Twa ethnic group. Women must occupy at least 30% of the seats in the National Assembly. Additional seats may be appointed by the Independent National Electoral Commission to ensure balance of ethnic representation. Electors are handed two envelopes, one white and one black. They are also handed as many ballots as there are candidates or lists of candidates. The elector places the ballot, with the party-list of their choice, into the white envelope and the remaining ballots into the black envelope. When the elector leaves the voting booth they place the white envelope in the small ballot box and the black envelope in a large urn. Votes are tabulated using the d'Hondt method. There is a 2 percent threshold.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: National Council for the Defense of Democracy - Front for the Defense of Democracy (CNDD-FDD)
  • Leader: Pierre NKURUNZIZA
  • Seats won in last election: 32
  • Party: Front for Democracy in Burundi / Front pour la Démocratie au Burundi (FRODEBU)
  • Léonce Ngendakumana
  • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Union for National Progress (Union pour le Progress Nationale) (UPRONA)
  • Leader: Bonaventure NIYOYANKANA
  • Seats won in last election: 2

Last election[2]:

  • The last election for the Senate was held on 28 July 2010.  There were 3,551,125[3] voters registered for the election.  CNDD-FDD ultimately won 32 seats, UPRONA won 2 seats, 3 seats were allocated to members of the Twa ethnic group, and 4 seats were allocated to former presidents.  Most opposition parties did not participate in the election. 

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 10,395,931 (2014)[4]
  • Registered Voters: 3,680,154 (2015 est.)[5]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 5,224,797 (2014 est.)[6]
  • Is Burundi a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has Burundi ratified CEDAW: Yes (8 January 1992)[7]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes[8]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 34 (32%) of 106 seats in the National Assembly[9]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 180[10]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium[11]

Disability Data:

  • Is Burundi a signatory to CRPD: Yes (26 April 2007)
  • Has Burundi ratified CRPD: Yes (22 May 2014)[12]

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Burundi

With Participation Rates