Nov. 28, 2014 Held



Election for Kalaallit Nunaanni Inatsisartut (Greenland Diet)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:29,488
Valid Votes:29,187
Invalid Votes:301

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Siumut (Siumut) 11 - 10,108


Inuit Ataqatigiit (Inuit Ataqatigiit) 11 - 9,783


Democrats (Democrats) 4 - 3,469


Naleraq (Naleraq) 3 - 3,423


Solidarity (Solidarity) 2 - 1,919


Inuit Party (Partii Inuit) - - 477

Election Results Modified: Dec 16, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:     

  • 31 seats in Greenland’s Diet (Kalaallit Nunaanni Inatsisartut)  

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen of Denmark MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972)
  • High Commissioner: Mikaela ENGELL (since April 2011)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Aleqa HAMMOND (since 13 March 2013)
  • Assembly: Greenland has a unicameral Parliament (Diet/Kalaallit Nunaanni Inatsisartut) with 31 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen of Denmark is hereditary.
  • The High Commissioner is appointed by the monarch.
  • The Prime Minister is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Parliament (Diet/Kalaallit Nunaanni Inatsisartut) 31 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.*

* Votes are tabulated using the d’Hondt method.

Election Note:

On Friday 28 November 2014, Greenland will hold a “snap” election for parliament (Diet).[i] Protests over an “expenses scandal involving Prime Minister Aleqa HAMMOND” led to the fall of the government on Wednesday 1 October 2014.[ii]

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Simut (S)
    • Leader: Kim KIELSEN
    • Seats won in last election: 14
  • Party: Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA)
    • Leader: Sara OLSVIG
    • Seats won in last election: 11
  • Party: Demokraatit (D)
    • Leader: Anda ULDUM
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Party: Atassut (A)
    • Leader: Gerhardt PETERSEN
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Party: Unuit Party (PI)
    • Leader: Nikku OLSEN
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Party: Partii Naleraq (PN)
    • Leader: Hans ENOKSEN
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

Last election:

  • The last election to the Diet in Greenland was held on 12 March 2013.[iii] Turnout was 74 percent and 30,136 of 40,588 casted ballots.[iv] The Simut (S) party won 43.22 percent of the vote or 14 seats, while the left-Green Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA) won 34.73 percent of the vote or 11 seats.[v] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 57,728 (July 2014 est)[vi]
  • Registered Voters: 40,588 (March 2013)[vii]

[i] http://www.nunatsiaqonline.ca/stories/article/65674greenland_election_moves_into_last_two_weeks/

[ii] http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/europpblog/2014/10/31/ahead-of-snap-elections-greenlands-independence-ambitions-could-open-a-window-for-closer-co-operation-with-the-eu/

[iii] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1657/

[iv] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1657/

[v] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1657/

[vi] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/gl.html

[vii] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1657/

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Greenland

With Participation Rates