Feb. 20, 2014 Held



Election for مجلس النواب (Majlis Al Nuwab) (Libyan Council of Deputies)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:750,000
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None
Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

Libya: Legislative Election, 20 February 2014

At stake in this election:

  • 60 seats in the Constituent Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Speaker of the House of Representatives Aqilah Salah ISSA (since 5 August 2014)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Abdullah al-THINI (since 11 March 2014)
  • Assembly: Libya has a unicameral Majlis al Nuwab (Council of Deputies) consisting of 200 seats.

About the Election:

  • This chamber was elected with the specific task of drafting a new constitution for post-Qaddafi Libya.

Note: There are no official figures for this election. It is estimated that just under 50% of registered voters actually cast votes in this election.[1]

Main candidates in the election:

  • Elections to the Constituent Assembly were purposefully nonpartisan. For a full list of elected members, see here.

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 6,411,776 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 1,509,218 (2014)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 3,090,469 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Libya a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Libya ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (16 May 1989)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[2]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 30 (15.96)

·         Human Development Index Position: 94 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Libya a signatory to CRPD: Yes (1 May 2008)

·         Has Libya ratified CRPD: No

·         Population with a disability: 961,766


[2] The gender quota requires that candidate lists alternate between male and females. 

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Libya

With Participation Rates