March 16, 2014 Held


Republic of Serbia

Election for Narodna skupština (Serbian National Assembly)


Cast Votes:3,592,375
Valid Votes:3,476,716
Invalid Votes:115,659


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Aleksandar Vučić - A Future We Believe In 158 - 1,736,920


Ivica Dačić Coaltion 44 - 484,607


With the Democratic Party for a Democratic Serbia 19 - 216,634


Boris Tadić Coaltion 18 - 204,767


Democratic Party of Serbia - - 152,436


Dveri Movement - - 128,458


Čedomir Jovanović Coaltion - - 120,879


United Regions of Serbia - - 109,167


Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians 6 - 75,294


Enough of That - - 74,973


Serbian Radical Party - - 72,303


Party of Democratic Action of Sandžak 3 - 35,157


Party for Democratic Action 2 - 24,301


Third Serbia - - 16,206


Russian Party - - 6,547


Montenegrin Party - - 6,388


Patriotic Front - - 4,514


All Together - - 3,983


Coalition of Citizens of All Nations and National Communities - - 3,182


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 250 seats in the National Assembly of Serbia.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Tomislav NIKOLIĆ
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ivica DAČIĆ
  • Assembly: Serbia has a unicameral National Assembly (Narodna skupština) with 250 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • In the National Assembly (Narodna skupština) 250 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms. Parties compete in one, nationwide district. There is a 5 percent threshold to enter parliament, with the exception of lists representing ethnic minorities. Parties representing ethnic minorities must cross a threshold of 0.4 percent to gain representation. The d'Hondt method is used to award seats

Election Notes:

  • The last election to the National Assembly (Narodna skupština) was held on May 6, 2012 alongside presidential, local, and provincial elections. Eighteen registered electoral lists competed in the election, with the Let’s Get Serbia moving list led by Tomislav NIKOLIĆ winning the most votes (24.05 percent) and most seats with 73. The Choice for a Better Life list, led by then-President Boris TADIĆ, finished second with 22.07 percent of the vote and 67 seats. Following the election, Ivica DAČIĆ (SPS) was elected Priome Minister and Aleksandar VUČIĆ was elected First Deputy Prime Minister. Elections to the National Assembly (Narodna skupština) were not due until 2016; however, in January 2014, the National Assembly was dissolved, with early elections set for March 16. The early elections were called for by First Deputy Prime Minister VUČIĆ, with opinion polling showing the support for the SNS to be at an all-time high, coupled with tensions in the ruling coalition. Serbian citizens will be able vote at 8,262 polling stations administered by the Republican Electoral Commission (RIK). Voting for Serbian citizens in Kosovo will be overseen and administered by the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE).     

Main lists and coalitions in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 7,130,576 (2014)
  • Registered Voters: 6,766,575 (2014)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population:3,649,573 (2014)

·         Is Serbia a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Serbia ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (12 May 2001)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 85 (following the 2014 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 66 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Serbia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (17 December 2007)

·         Has Serbia ratified CRPD: Yes (31 July 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 1,074,086 (est.)

[i] New electoral coalition for the 2014 National Assembly elections. The five member parties won 75 seats during the 2012 National Assembly elections.

[ii] The Democratic Party, which leads the list, currently has 41 seats in the National Assembly.

[iii] National Minority List. Five percent threshold does not apply.

[iv] New electoral coalition for the 2014 National Assembly elections. Previously, the three member parties won 13 seats in the 2012 National Assembly elections.

[v] National Minority List. Five percent threshold does not apply.

[vi] Together for Serbia is a new political party formed in 2012 consisting of former members of the Democratic Party which supported Boris TADIĆ in the Presidential election against Tomislav NIKOLIĆ.

[vii] New electoral coalition for the 2014 parliamentary elections. Currently, there are 19 members representing the electoral coalition in the National Assembly.