Feb. 16, 2015 Held

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis

Election for St Kitts and Nevis National Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:30,455
Valid Votes:30,299
Invalid Votes:156

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Action Movement (PAM) / People's Labour Party (PLP) (People's Action Movement (PAM) / People's Labour Party (PLP)) 5 - 11,175


Labour Party (SKNLP) (Labour Party (SKNLP)) 3 - 11,897


Concerned Citizens' Movement 2 - - 3,951


Nevis Reformation Party 1 - - 3,276

Election Results Modified: Mar 25, 2015

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 11 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Dr. Denzil DOUGLAS
  • Assembly: Saint Kitts and Nevis has a unicameral National Assembly with 14 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Edmund LAWRENCE

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary N/A.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the Monarch. 
  • In the National Assembly, 3 members are nominated to serve 5-year terms and 11 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Of the three nominated seats, two are nominated on the advice of the prime minister and one on the advice of the leader of the opposition.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Saint Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP)
    • Leader: Dr. Denzil DOUGLAS
    • Seats won in last election: 6
  • Party: Team Unity* 
    •  Leader: Dr. Timothy HARRIS
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Nevis Reformation Party (NRP)
    • Leader: Joseph PARRY
    • Seats won in last election: 1

*This is an alliance between the Concerned Citizens' Movement (CCM) led by Vince AMORY, the People's Action Movement (PAM) led by Lindsay GRANT, and the newly formed People’s Labour Party (PLP), led by Dr. Timothy HARRIS. In the 2010 elections PAM and the CCM each won 2 seats in parliament.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 51,538 (July 2014 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 36,000 (Est.)
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Saint Kitts and Nevis

With Participation Rates