Nov. 8, 2016 Held

Puerto Rico

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Election for Senado (Puerto Rican Senate)


Cast Votes:1,578,164
Valid Votes:1,461,024
Invalid Votes:117,140


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Progressive Party 15 None

Popular Democratic Party 1 None

Puerto Rican Independence Party None None

Working People’s Party None None

More Info:

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico: Legislative Election, 8 November 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 27 seats in the Senado (Senate)

Note on the results: The voter data is taken from the at-large Senator vote. 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Barack H. OBAMA (since 20 January 2009)
  • Head of Government: Governor Alejandro GARCIA Padilla (since 2 January 2013)
  • Assembly: Puerto Rico has a bicameral Asamblea Legislativa (Legislative Assembly) consisting of the Senado (Senate) with 27 seats and the Camara de Representantes (House of Representatives) with 51 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • For the Senate, 16 members are directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 11 at-large members are directly elected by simple majority vote. All members of the Senate serve 4-year terms. 

Last Election:

  • The last election for the Senate was held on 6 November 2012. The Popular Democratic Party won 18 seats, the New Progressive Party won 8, and the Puerto Rican Independence Party won 1.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Popular Democratic Party (PPD)/Partido Popular Democrático
    • Leader: Alejandro GARCÍA Padilla
    • Seats won in last election: 18
  • New Progressive Party (PNP)/Partido Nuevo Progresista
    • Leader: Pedro PIERLUISI
    • Seats won in last election: 8
  • Puerto Rican Independence Party (PIP)/Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
    • Leader: Rubén BERRÍOS Martínez
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Sovereign Union Movement/Movimiento Unión Soberanista
    • Leader: Arturo HERNÁNDEZ
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Working People’s Party/Partido del Pueblo Trabajador
    • Leader: Rafael Bernabe RIEFKOHL
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 3,578,056 (July 2016 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 2,382,738 (2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,869,525 (July 2016 est.)

·         Is Puerto Rico a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Puerto Rico ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 8 (15.69%)

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Puerto Rico a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Puerto Rico ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 536,708 (est.)