May 9, 2016 Held


Republic of the Philippines

Election for Senado (Philippine Senate)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:44,979,151
Valid Votes:44,979,151
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Liberal Party 5

Independents (Independents) 3

Nationalist People's Coalition 2

United Nationalist Alliance (UNA)/ Nagkakaisang Alyansang Makabansa * 1

Akbayan Citizen's Action (Akbayan Citizen's Action) 1

Election Results Modified: Jun 08, 2016

General Information

Philippines: Parliament Election, 9 May 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 12 seats in the Senado (Senate)

Note on the results: When electing members of the Senate, voters are able to vote for up to 12 candidates, meaning vote totals are not reflective of the number of voters. 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Benigno AQUINO (since 30 June 2010)
  • Head of Government: President Benigno AQUINO (since 30 June 2010)
  • Assembly: Philippines has a bicameral Kongreso (Congress) consisting of the Senado (Senate) with 24 seats and the Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan (House of Representatives) with 289 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the Senate are directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by majority vote. Members serve 6-year terms with one-half of the membership renewed every 3 years.

Last Election:

  • Elections for the Senate were last held on 13 May 2013. The United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) and the Nacionalista Party (NP) each won 3 seats, while the Liberal Party (LP), Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC), Struggle for Democratic Filipinos (LDP), and Philippine Democratic Party-People’s Power (PDB Laban) all won 1 seat. Additionally, 2 independents won 2 seats in the Senate.

Main parties in the election:

  • United Nationalist Alliance (UNA)/Nagkakaisang Alyansang Makabansa
    • Leader: Toby TIANGCO
    • Seats won in last election: 3 (2013)
  • Liberal Party of the Philippines (LP)/ Partido Liberal ng Pilipinas
    • Leader: Benigno AQUINO
    • Seats won in last election: 1 (2013)
  • Nacionalista Party (NP)/ Partido Nasyonalista
    • Leader: Manuel VILLAR
    • Seats won in last election: 3 (2013)
  • Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC)
    • Leader: Eduardo COJUANGCO, Jr.
    • Seats won in last election: 1 (2013)
  • Struggle of Filipino Democrats (LDP)/Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino
    • Leader: Edgardo ANGARA
    • Seats won in last election: 1 (2013)
  • Philippine Democratic Party-People’s Power (PDB-Laban)/Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan
    • Leader: Rodrigo DUTERTE
    • Seats won in last election: 1 (2013)

Population and number of registered voters:        

·         Population: 100,998,376 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 52,014,648 (2013)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 50,288,699 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Philippines a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (15 July 1980)

·         Has Philippines ratified CEDAW: Yes (5 August 1981)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 85 (27.16%)[1]

·         Human Development Index Position: 115 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Philippines a signatory to CRPD: Yes (25 September 2007)

·         Has Philippines ratified CRPD: Yes (15 April 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 15,149,756



[1] There are 79 women serving in the House of Representatives (27.34%) and 6 in the Senate (25%). 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Philippines

With Participation Rates