Nov. 6, 2016 Held


Republic of Nicaragua

Election for Asamblea Nacional (Nicaraguan National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,546,356
Valid Votes:2,441,955
Invalid Votes:104,401

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Sandinista National Liberation Front (Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional) 1,593,316


Liberal Constitutionalist Party (Partido Liberal Constitucionalista) 369,342


Independent Liberal Party (Partido Liberal Independiente) 162,027


Nicaraguan Liberal Alliance (Alianza Liberal Nicaragüense) 137,541


Conservative Party of Nicaragua (Partido Conservador de Nicaragua) 106,027


Alliance for the Republic (Alianza por la República) 49,329

Election Results Modified: Nov 15, 2016

General Information

Republic of Nicaragua: Parliament, 6 November 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 92 seats in the Asamblea Nacional (National Assembly)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra (since 10 January 2007)
  • Head of Government: President Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra (since 10 January 2007)
  • Assembly: Nicaragua has a unicameral Asamblea Nacional (National Assembly) composed of 92 seats with members serving 5-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • For the National Assembly, 70 members are elected in multi-seat constituencies and 20 members are elected in a single nationwide constituency. Additionally, 2 seats are reserved seats for the previous president and the runner-up candidate in the previous presidential election.

Last Election:

  • Elections were last held on 6 November 2011. In this election, the Sandinista National Liberation Front won 62 seats, the Independent Liberal Party won 26, and the Liberal Constitutionalist Party took 2 seats.

Main parties in the election:

  • Sandinista National Liberation Front
    • Leader: Jose Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra
    • Seats won in last election: 52
  • Independent Liberal Party
    • Leader: Pedro REYES
    • Seats won in last election: 26

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 5,907,881 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 3,303,831 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 3,023,064 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Nicaragua a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Nicaragua ratified CEDAW: Yes (27 October 1981)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[1]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 37 (40.22%)

·         Human Development Index Position: 125 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Nicaragua a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Nicaragua ratified CRPD: Yes (7 December 2007)

·         Population with a disability: 886,182 (est.)

[1] Lists of candidates are arranged on the basis of alternation between male and female candidates. 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Nicaragua

With Participation Rates