Nov. 28, 2014 Held


Republic of Namibia

Election for Namibian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:890,738
Valid Votes:890,738
Invalid Votes:0

Vote Share by Candidate:

Hage GEINGOB772,528


McHenry VENAANI44,271


Hidipo HAMUTENYA30,197


Asser MBAI16,740

Election Results Modified: Dec 16, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:      

  • The office of President of Namibia

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Hifikepunye POHAMBA (since 21 March 2005) *
  • Head of Government: President Hifikepunye POHAMBA (since 21 March 2005)
  • Assembly: Namibia has a bicameral Legislature consisting of the National Council with 26 seats and the National Assembly with 78 seats.

*The President is both Chief of State and Head of Government

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Council 26 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms.* In the National Assembly, 72 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 6 non-voting members are appointed by the president.**

* Two members are chosen from each of the 13 regional councils by members of those councils.

** There are 13 multi-member constituencies corresponding to Namibia's regions.

Election Note:

On Friday 28 November 2014, Namibia will hold an election for President.[i] According to Namibia’s Constitution, if no candidate wins more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff election will be required.[ii]

Main candidates in the electoral race:

  • Candidate: Hage GEINGOB
    • Party: South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO) *
  • Candidate: Hidipo HAMUTENYA
    • Party: Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP)
  • Candidate: McHenry VENAANI
    • Party: Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA)
  • Candidate: Asser MBAI
    • Party: National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO)
  • Candidate: Ignatius Nkotongo SHIXWAMENI
    • Party: All People's Party (APP)
  • Candidate: Henk Ferdinand MUDGE
    • Party: Republican Party (RP)
  • Candidate: Benjamin ULENGA
    • Party: Congress of Democrats (COD)
  • Candidate: Usutuaije MAAMBERUA
    • Party: South West Africa National Union (SWANU)
  • Candidate: Epafras Jan MUKWILONGO
    • Party: Namibian Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF)

* President POHAMBA cannot run in the November 2014 election due to term limits

Last election:

  • The last election for president of Namibia was held on 27 November 2009.[iii] There were 812,233 registered voters.[iv] Hifikepunye POHAMBA of the ruling South West Africa People’s Organizations (SWAPO) won with 611,241 votes or 75.25 percent of the vote.[v] Hidipo HAMUTENYA of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) came in second with 88,640 votes or 10.91 percent of the vote.[vi] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 2,198,406 (July 2014 est)[vii]
  • Registered Voters: 1,241,194 (November 2014)[viii]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 1,088,808 (July 2014 est)[i]
  • Is Namibia a signatory to CEDAW: No.[ii]
  • Has Namibia ratified CEDAW: Yes (23 November 1992)[iii]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes. a.) Legislated Candidate Quota (sub-national level): “In the election of any local authority council with 10 or less members, party lists must include at least 3 female persons.” b.) Voluntary Political Party Quota: South West Africa People’s Organisation (SWAPO) “has a 50 percent quota with a zebra-system.[iv]
  • Female Candidates in this election: 0.
  • Number of Female Legislators: 19 (24%) of 72 seats in the National Assembly[v]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 127[vi]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Ranking: 21st out of 86 non-OECD countries (latest rankings are from 2012)[vii]

[i] http://allafrica.com/stories/201411040986.html

[ii] http://allafrica.com/stories/201411040986.html

[iii] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2127/

[iv] http://www.idea.int/vt/countryview.cfm?CountryCode=NA

[v] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2127/

[vi] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2127/

[vii] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/wa.html

[viii] http://www.news24.com/Africa/News/Namibia-ready-to-vote-20141120

[i] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/wa.html

[ii] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[iii] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[iv] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=160

[v] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=160

[vi] http://www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/librarypage/hdr/2014-human-development-report/

[vii] http://genderindex.org/ranking

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Namibia

With Participation Rates