Nov. 26, 2017 Held


Republic of Honduras

Election for Congreso Nacional (Honduran National Congress)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,476,419
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Party of Honduras (Partido Nacional de Honduras) 61

Liberty and Refoundation Party (Libertad y Refundación) 30

Liberal Party (Partido Liberal de Honduras) 26

Honduran Patriotic Alliance (Partido Alianza Patriotica) 4

Party for Innovation and Unity (Partido de Inovación y Unidad) 4

Anti-Corruption Party (Partido Anticorrupción) 1

Democratic Unification Party (Partido Unificación Democrática) 1

Christian Democratic Party of Honduras (Partido Demócrata Cristiano de Honduras) 1

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2018

General Information

Honduras: Honduran National Congress, 26 November 2017

At stake in this election:

  • 128 seats in the National Congress (Congreso Nacional)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Juan Orlando HERNANDEZ Alvarado (since 27 January 14)
  • Head of Government: President Juan Orlando HERNANDEZ Alvarado (since 27 January 14)
  • Assembly: Unicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) with 128 seats

Description of electoral system:

  • The 128 members of the National Congress are directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by a proportional representation vote. Members serve 4-year terms.

Last Election:

  • The last election for the Honduran National Congress occurred on November 24, 2013. The National Party won 48 seats, which was the largest share.

Main candidates in the election:

  • National Party / Partido Nacional
    • Leader: Reinaldo Sánchez RIVERA
    • Seats won in last election: 48
  • Liberty and Refoundation / Libertad y Refundación
    • Leader: José Manuel Zelaya ROSALES
    • Seats won in last election: 37
  • Liberal Party / Partido Liberal
    • Leader: Luis Orlando Zelaya MEDRANO
    • Seats won in last election: 27
  • Innovation and Unity Party / Partido Innovación y Unidad
    • Leader: Guillermo Enrique VALLE
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Honduran Patriotic Alliance / Alianza Patriótica Hondureña
    • Leader: Romeo Vásquez VELASQUEZ
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Democratic Unification Party / Partido Unificación Democrática
    • Leader: Alfonso Díaz NARVAEZ
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Christian Democratic Party / Partido Democrata Cristiano de Honduras
    • Leader: Augusto Diaz NARVAEZ
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Anti-Corruption Party / Partido Anticorrupcion
    • Leader: Marlene ALVARENGA
    • Seats won in last election: 13

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 9,038,741
  • Registered Voters: 6,046,873

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 4,409,142
  • Is Honduras a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (11 June 1980)
  • Has Honduras ratified CEDAW: Yes (3 March 1983)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 33
  • Human Development Index Position: 130
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low

Disability Data:

  • Is Honduras a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Honduras ratified CRPD: Yes (14 April 2008)
  • Population with a disability: 1,177,358
Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Honduras

With Participation Rates