April 12, 2014 Held



Election for Niue Fono Ekepule (Niuean Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:870
Valid Votes:842
Invalid Votes:28

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents (Independents) 20 - 842

Election Results Modified: Apr 28, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 20 seats in the Assembly.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II[i]
  • Head of Government: Premier Toke TALAGI
  • Assembly: Niue has a unicameral Niue Assembly (Niue Fono Ekepule) with 20 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Premier is elected by the Assembly to serve a 3-year term.
  • In the Niue Assembly (Niue Fono Ekepule), 6 members are elected by block vote on a common role to serve 3-year terms[ii] and 14 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies, representing the 14 villages of Niue, to serve 3-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 2,563 (October 2012)
  • Registered Voters:

[i] The Queen is represented by the Governor General of New Zealand Sir Jeremiah “Jerry” MATEPARAE.

[ii] Each voter has up to six votes to use in voting for the common role candidates.

[iii] All members are elected as independents, as there are no political parties in Niue.

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Niue

With Participation Rates