Dec. 18, 2016 Held

Côte d'Ivoire

Republic of Côte d'Ivoire

Election for Assemblee Nationale (Ivorian National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,137,364
Valid Votes:2,026,789
Invalid Votes:110,575

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Rally of Houphouetists for Democracy and Peace (Rassemblement des houphouëtistes pour la démocratie et la paix) 167 - 1,019,057


Independents (Independents) 76 - 780,629


Union for Democracy and Peace in Cote d'Ivoire (Union pour la démocratie et la paix en Côte d’Ivoire) 6 - - 60,566


Union for Cote d'Ivoire (Union for cote d'Ivoire) 3 - 20,806


Ivorian Popular Front (FPI) (Front Populaire Ivoirien) 3 - 118,130

Election Results Modified: Feb 08, 2017

General Information

Côte d’Ivoire: Parliament, 18 December 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 255 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Alassane Dramane OUTTARA (since 4 December 2010)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Daniel Kablan DUNCAN (since 21 November 2012)
  • Assembly: Côte d’Ivoire has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 255 seats.[1]

Description of electoral system:

  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 255 members are elected by first-past-the-post voting in 205 single and multi-member constituencies to serve four-year terms.[2]

Last Election:

  • The last parliamentary election in Côte d’Ivoire was held on 11 December 2011. The election was boycotted Ivorian Popular Front (Front Populaire Ivoirien). As a result, parties belonging to the Rally of Houphouëtists for Democracy and Peace won 204 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale).

Main candidates in the election:

  • Allaince: Rally of Houphouëtists for Democracy and Peace / Rassemblement des Houphouétistes pour la Démocratie et la Paix (RHDP)[3]
    • Leader: Henri Konan BÉDIÉ
    • Seats won in last election: 204
  • Ivorian Popular Front / Front Populaire Ivoirien (FPI)
    • Leader: Pascal Affi N’GUESSAN
    • Seats won in last election: 0[4]
  • Union for Côte d’Ivoire / L’Union Pour la Côte d’Ivoire (UPCI)
    • Leader: Gnamien KONAN
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Union for Democracy and Peace in Côte d’Ivoire / Union pour la Démocratie et la Paix en Côte d’Ivoire (UDPCI)
    • Leader: Albert Toikeusse MABRI
    • Seats won in last election: 6
  • Independent Candidates[5]
    • Seats won in last election: 31

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 25,232,905 (December 2014)
  • Registered Voters: 6,318,331 (December 2016)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 11,735,773 (July 2016)
  • Is [Country] a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has [Country] ratified CEDAW: Yes (18 December 1995)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes, there 172 women contesting the election
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 23/255 (9.16%)
  • Human Development Index Position: 172
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High

Disability Data:

  • Is [Country] a signatory to CRPD: Yes (7 June 2007)
  • Has [Country] ratified CRPD: Yes (10 January 2014)
  • Population with a disability: 3,494,295

[1] On October 30, 2016, citizens of Côte d’Ivoire passed via referendum a new constitution. The new constitution will switch Côte d’Ivoire to a bicameral system, with an indirectly elected Senate (Sénat) and directly elected National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale). Until the Senate (Sénat) is formalized, the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) will serve as the only legislative body.

[2] The multi-member constituencies range in magnitude from 2-6 seats.

[3] The RHDP alliance was established in 2005, consisting of the Rally of the Republicans, The Democratic Party of Côte d’Ivoire, the Union for Democracy and Peace in Côte d’Ivoire, the Movement of the Forces of the Future, and the Union for Côte D’Ivoire.

[4] The FPI boycotted the 2011 parliamentary elections

[5] 740 independent candidates will contest the elections

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Côte d'Ivoire

With Participation Rates