Oct. 7, 2018 Held


Republic of Cameroon

Election for Cameroonian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,590,681
Valid Votes:3,537,965
Invalid Votes:52,716

Vote Share by Candidate:

Paul BIYA2,521,934


Maurice KAMTO503,384


Cabral LIBII LI NGUE NGUE221,995


Joshua Nambangui OSIH118,706


Adamou NDAM NJOYA61,220


Garga Haman ADJI55,048

Election Results Modified: Nov 07, 2018

General Information

Note on the Results: The vote count will be included when more information is available.

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Cameroon

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Paul BIYA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Philemon YANG
  • Assembly: Cameroon has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) with 180 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 7-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale), 90 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 90 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.***

*** The president can either lengthen or shorten the term of the legislature. In the PR tier, electors cast a ballot for a party list. If a list achieves an absolute majority, they win all the seats in that district. If no list obtains an absolute majority, the one with the highest number of votes is allocated half of the seats; the remainder is allocated to the other best-placed lists through proportional representation. There is a 5 percent threshold.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Paul BIYA
    • Party: Democratic Rally of the People of Cameroon  / Rassemblement démocratique du Peuple Camerounais (RDPC/CPDM)
  • Joshua Nambangui OSIH
    • Party: Social Democratic Front / Front Social-Démocratique (SDF/FSD)
  • Adamou NDAM NJOYA
    • Party: Cameroon Democratic Union / Union Démocratique du Cameroun (CDU/UDC)
  • Garga Haman ADJI
    • Party: Alliance for Democracy and Develpment / Alliance pour la Démocratie et le Développement (ADD)
  • Maurice KAMTO
    • Party: Cameroon Reneissance Movement / Movement pour la Renaissance du Cameroun (CRM/MRC)
  • Serge Espoir MATOMBA
    • Party: United People for Social Renovation / Peuple Uni pour la Rénovation Sociale (UPSR/PURS)
  • Franklin Ndofor AFANWI
    • Movement of National Citizens (MNCC/CNCM)
  • Akere Tabeng MUNA
    • FDP/PDF
    • Party: Univers

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 24,678,324 (2018 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 7,251,651 (September 2011)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 12,325,060 (2018 est.)
  • Is Cameroon a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (6 June 1983)
  • Has Cameroon ratified CEDAW: Yes (23 August 1994)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 56 (National Assembly)
  • Human Development Index Position: 153 (2016)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2014)

Disability Data:

  • Is Cameroon a signatory to CRPD: Yes (1 October 2008)
  • Has Cameroon ratified CRPD: No
  • Population with a disability: 3,560,883 (2018 est.)
Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Cameroon

With Participation Rates