Sept. 25, 2016 Held

Basque Country (part of Spain)

Basque Country

Election for Eusko Legebiltzarra (Basque Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,056,006
Valid Votes:1,056,006
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Basque Nationalist Party ( Euzko Alderdi Jeltzalea-Partido Nacionalista Vasco) 29 - 397,664


Euskal Herria Bildu (Euskal Herria Bildu) 17 - 224,254


Elkarrekin Podemos (Elkarrekin Podemos) 11 - 156,671


Socialist Party of Basque Country ( Partido Socialista de Euskadi-Euskadiko Ezkerra) 9 - 126,139


People's Party (Partido Popular) 9 - 107,357


Citizens - Party of the Citizenry (Citizens - Party of the Citizenry) - - 21,362

Election Results Modified: Sep 26, 2016

General Information

Basque Autonomous Community of Spain: Parliament, 25 September 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 75 seats in the Eusko Legbiltzarra (Parlamento Vasco, Basque Parliament)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King FELIPE VI (since 19 June 2014)[1]
  • Head of Government: Lehendakari Iñigo URKULLU (since 15 December 2012)[2]
  • Assembly: Basque Autonomous Community of Spain has its own unicameral Basque Parliament separate from that of Spain, which is composed of 75 seats with members serving 4-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the Basque Parliament are elected using closed list proportional representation vote. The three provinces of the Basque autonomous community, Araba, Gipúzkoa, and Bizkaia, each elect 25 representatives the Basque Parliament.

Last Election:

  • Elections were last held on 21 October 2012. The Basque Nationalist Party won 27 seats, Euskal Herria Bildu won 21, the Socialist Party won 16, the People’s Party won 10, and Union, Progress and Democracy took 1.

Main parties in the election:

  • Basque Nationalist Party/Euzko Alderdi Jeltzalea – Partido Nacionalista Vasco
    • Leader: Andoni ORTUZAR
    • Seats won in last election: 27
  • Euskal Herria Bildu (EH BILDU)
    • Leader: Pello URIZAR
    • Seats won in last election: 21
  • Socialist Party of Basque Country/Partido Socialista de Euskadi – Euskadiko Ezkerra
    • Leader: Idoia MENDIA
    • Seats won in last election: 16
  • People’s Party/Partido Popular
    • Leader: Mariano RAJOY
    • Seats won in last election: 10
  • Union, Progress, and Democracy/Union Progreso y Democracia
    • Leader: Gorka MANEIRO Labayen
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • United We Can/Podemos
    • Leader: Pilar ZABALA
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Citizens – Party of the Citizenry
    • Leader: Nicolás de MIGUEL
    • Seats won in last election: 0

For full results of this election, see here

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 2,189,257 (2015)

·         Registered Voters: 1,775,351 (2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population:

·         Is Basque Territory a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Basque Territory ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: Yes[3]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 36

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A (Spain’s ranking is 26)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A (Spain’s ranking is Very Low)

Disability Data:

·         Is Basque Territory a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Basque Territory ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 328,388 (est.)


[1] Chief of State of the Kingdom of Spain.

[2] The Lehendakari is the head of the government of the Basque Autonomous Community of Spain.

[3] The government of the Basque Country requires party electoral lists to be composed of 50 percent women candidates. 

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Basque Country (part of Spain)

With Participation Rates