Nov. 4, 2014 Held

American Samoa

American Samoa

Election for American Somoan House of Representatives


Cast Votes:11,913
Valid Votes:11,913
Invalid Votes:0

More Info:

* Candidates ran as independents.

**For a list of winning candidates, see: http://www.americansamoaelectionoffice.org/results/2014%20General%20Electionfficial%20Results.pdf


At stake in this election:     

  • The 20 (of 21) seats in American Samoa’s House of Representatives

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Barack OBAMA (since 20 January 2009)
  • Head of Government: Governor Lolo Matalasi MOLIGA (since 3 January 2013)
  • Assembly: American Samoa has a bicameral Legislature (Fono) consisting of the Senate with 18 seats and the House of Representatives with 21 seats.

* Residents also elect one non-voting delegate to serve a 2-year term in the US House of Representatives.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by an electoral college to serve a 4-year term.* **
  • The Governor is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Senate 18 members are selected by regional governing councils to serve 2-year terms.*** In the House of Representatives, 20 members are elected by popular vote to serve 2-year terms and 1 member is elected by public meeting on Swains Island to serve a 2-year term.****

* Residents of unincorporated territories do not vote in elections for US president or vice president, however, they may vote in Democratic and Republican presidential primary elections.

*** Residents also elect one non-voting delegate to serve a 2-year term in the US House of Representatives.

*** Senators are selected by local chiefs through a method called faa-Samoa, showing that they are in good standing in the community.

**** The member elected by public meeting on Swains Island is a nonvoting member of the (American Samoa) House of Representatives.

Election Note:

  • On Tuesday 4 November 2014, there will be an election to the American Samoa House of Representatives.[i]

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Independents*

* Candidates will be running as Independents

Last election:

  • The last election to the House of Representatives in American Samoa was on 6 November 2012.[ii] Approximately 13,076 people voted in the election.[iii] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 54,517 (July 2014 est)[iv]
  • Registered Voters: N/A

[i] http://www.americansamoaelectionoffice.org/calendar_of_events/calendar_of_events.htm

[ii] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/aq.html

[iii] http://www.mediafire.com/view/?8p11xfpvyj2vni5

[iv] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/aq.html