April 9, 2014 Held


Republic of Indonesia

Election for Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (Indonesian House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:139,573,927
Valid Votes:124,972,491
Invalid Votes:14,601,436

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Indonesian Democratic Party - Struggle (Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan) 109 - 23,681,471


Party of the Functional Groups (Partai Golongan Karya) 91 - 18,432,312


Great Indonesia Movement Party (Partai Gerakan Indonesia Raya, Gerindra) 73 - 14,760,371


Democratic Party (Partai Demokrat) 61 - 12,728,913


National Mandate Party 49 - 9,481,621


National Awakening Party 47 - 11,298,957


Prosperous Justice Party 40 - 8,480,204


United Development Party 39 - 8,157,488


National Democrat Party (Partai NasDem) 35 - 8,402,812


People's Conscience Party (Partai Hati Nurani Rakyat, Partai Hanura)) 16 - 6,579,498


Crescent Star Party - - 1,825,750


Justice and Unity Party - - 1,143,094

Election Results Modified: May 13, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 560 seats in the House of Representatives

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO
  • Head of Government: President Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO
  • Assembly: Indonesia has a bicameral People's Consultative Assembly consisting of the Regional Representative Council (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah) with 132 seats and the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat) with 560 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • In the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat) 560 members are elected by open list proportional representation in 77 multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.[1] Parties must receive at least 3.5 percent of the vote to win seats in the DPR.
  • Each voter receives one DPR ballot listing all political parties and candidates running in their electoral district. The voter then punches one or two holes to vote for one candidate or one political party or both. If a voter selects both, the political party chosen must be the party of the candidate chosen or the ballot is invalid.

Election Note:

  • In addition to 560 seats in the House of Representatives and 132 seats in the Regional Representative Council, 2,112 seats in Provincial Legislative Assemblies and 16,895 seats in District Legislative Assemblies will also be at stake on April 9. Indonesia’s newest province, North Kalimantan, will not hold provincial or district elections until 2019. Jakarta will also not hold district elections in its six districts.
  • A constitutional court ruling on August 29, 2012 required all political parties, including those with seats in the House of Representatives, to submit to the full registration process. Parties must also now have a presence in all provinces, in addition to 75% of each province’s regencies and half of each regency’s districts, to run. Parties in the autonomous province of Aceh are still allowed to be provincial in nature. While 46 parties attempted to register, only 12 passed the verification process (down from 48 in 1999).

Main parties in the electoral race:[2]

Last election:

  • The last election to the House of Representatives was held on April 9, 2009. The Democratic Party received 21,703,137 votes (20.85%) and won 148 seats. The Golkar Party received 15,037,757 votes (14.45%) and won 106 seats. The Indonesian Democratic Party – Struggle (PDI-P) received 14,600,091 votes (14.03%) and won 94 seats.


  • Population: 254,454,778 (2014)
  • Eligible Voters: 185,822,507 (February 2014)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 126,289,879 (2014)

·         Is Indonesia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (28 July 1980)

·         Has Indonesia ratified CEDAW: Yes (13 September 1984)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 94 (following the 2014 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 110 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Indonesia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Indonesia ratified CRPD: Yes (30 November 2011)

·         Population with a disability: 38,168,216 (est.)

[1] Parties must now clear a threshold of 3.5% nationwide, increased in 2012 from 2.5%. Each party list must include at least 33% female candidates. Under a 2008 constitutional court ruling, voters may select a party, or they may select an individual. The ordering of party lists is fully determined by candidate preference votes. Between three and ten seats are at stake in each electoral district.

[2] Parties are listed in order of their registration number.

[3] New party, founded July 26, 2011.

[4] Regional party, only contesting elections in Aceh.

[5] Regional party, only contesting elections in Aceh.

[6] Regional party, only contesting elections in Aceh.

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Indonesia

With Participation Rates