Nov. 24, 2013 Held


Republic of Honduras

Election for Honduran Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,275,346
Valid Votes:3,115,448
Invalid Votes:159,898

Vote Share by Candidate:

Juan Orlando HERNÁNDEZ1,149,302


Xiomara Castro de ZELAYA896,498


Mauricio VILLEDA632,320


Salvador NASRALLA418,443


Romeo VÁZQUEZ Velásquez6,105


Orle SOLÍS5,194


Jorge AGUILAR Paredes4,468


Andrés PAVÓN3,118

Election Results Modified: Dec 12, 2013

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The Office of President of the Republic of Honduras

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Porfirio LOBO Sosa
  • Head of Government: President Porfirio LOBO Sosa
  • Assembly: Honduras has a unicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) with 128 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term. The President is limited to one 4-year term.

Election Notes:

  • The last presidential election occurred on November 29, 2009 following the Honduran constitutional crisis. Porfirio LOBO Sosa of the National Party / Partido Nacional was elected president with 56.56% of the votes. LOBO is not eligible to run for the office of President again. Three political parties held nationwide primary elections. In these elections, Juan Orlando HERNANDÉZ won the nomination of National Party, Mauricio VILLEDA won the nomination of the Liberal Party, and Xiomara Castro de ZELAYA, wife of former President Manuel ZELAYA, won the nomination of the Liberty and Refoundation Party. The presidential election will be held alongside elections for the National Assembly, Mayors and Vice-mayors, and the Central American Parliament.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Jorge AGUILAR Paredes
    • Innovation and Unity Party / Partido Innovación y Unidad (PINU)
  • Xiomara CASTRO de Zelaya
    • Liberty and Refoundation Party / Libertad y Refundación (LIBRE)
  • Juan Orlando HERNANDÉZ
    • National Party of Honduras / Partido Nacional de Honduras (PNH)
  • Salvador NASRALLA
    • Anti-Corruption Party / Partido Anticorrupción (PAC)
  • Andrés PAVÓN
    • FAPER – Democratic Unification / Unificación Democrática – Frente Amplio Político Electoral en Resístencia (UD-FAPER)
  • Orle SOLÍS
    • Christian Democratic Party of Honduras / Partido Demócratico Cristiano de Honduras (DC)
  • Romeo VÁZQUEZ Velásquez
    • Honduran Patriotic Alliance / Partido Alianza Patriótica (ALIANZA)
  • Mauricio VILLEDA
    • Liberal Party of Honduras / Partido Liberal de Honduras (PLH)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 7,849,059 (2013)
  • Registered Voters: 5,308,781 (November 2013)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 3,925,725 (2013)

·         Is Honduras a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (11 June 1980)

·         Has Honduras ratified CEDAW: Yes (3 March 1983)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 33 (following the 2013 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 131 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Honduras a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Honduras ratified CRPD: Yes (14 April 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 1,177,358 (est.)


Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Honduras

With Participation Rates