April 7, 2013 Held



Election for Montenegrin Presidency


Cast Votes:326,803
Valid Votes:316,229
Invalid Votes:10,574


Filip VUJANOVIC161,940


Miodrag LEKIC154,289


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Montenegro

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Filip VUJANOVIC
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Milo DJUKANOVIC
  • Assembly: Montenegro has a unicameral Assembly (Skupstina) with 81 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by direct vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Assembly (Skupstina) 81 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

* Former coalition members, the Social Democratic Party of Montenegro (SDP) broke with DPS over the decision to nominate VUJANOVIC for a third term. The Constitutional Court dismissed their case in February 2013.
** Although running as an independent, LEKIC has been endorsed by the Democratic Front (bloc) and the Socialist People’s Party / Socijalistička narodna partija Crne Gore,

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 621,207 (2013)
  • Registered Voters: 514,055 (April 2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 314,379 (2013)

·         Is Montenegro a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Montenegro ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (23 October 2006)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 12 (following the 2012 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 49 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Montenegro a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 September 2007)

·         Has Montenegro ratified CRPD: Yes (2 November 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 93,181 (est.)