Sept. 26, 2012 Held


Republic of Palau

Election for Palauan Presidency


Cast Votes:9,407
Valid Votes:9,407
Invalid Votes:0


Tommy E. REMENGESAU, Jr.4,617


Johnson TORIBIONG3,100


Sandra Sumang PIERANTOZZI1,690


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Palau

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Johnson TORIBIONG
  • Head of Government: President Johnson TORIBIONG
  • Assembly: Palau has a bicameral Parliament (Olbiil Era Kelulau) consisting of the Senate with 9 seats and the House of Delegates with 16 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Senate 13 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms*. In the House of Delegates 16 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.

* Every voter may choose as many candidates as there are seats. All candidates compete in one, at-large district and the candidates who receive the most votes are elected. This is also known as a Block voting system.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Tommy E. REMENGESAU, Jr.
    • Independent(s): Independent
  • Sandra Sumang PIERANTOZZI
    • Independent(s): Independent
  • Johnson TORIBIONG
    • Independent(s): Independent

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 21,032 (July 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 15,305 (October 2012 )