Jan. 14, 2012 Held


Republic of China

Election for Taiwanese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:13,354,305
Valid Votes:13,354,305
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Candidate:

MA Ying-jeou6,891,139


TSAI Ing-wen6,093,578


James SOONG Chu-yu369,588

Election Results Modified: Dec 09, 2011

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Taiwan

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President MA Ying-jeou
  • Head of Government: Premier WU Den-yih
  • Assembly: Taiwan has a unicameral Legislative Yuan with 113 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • The Premier is appointed by the President.
  • In the Legislative Yuan, 73 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms, 34 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms and 6 members are elected by single non-transferable vote to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Each voter has two votes: one in a single-member constituency or in one of two three-member constituencies representing indigenous groups (highland or lowland); one for a party list. Proportional representation seats are allocated nationwide with a 5 percent threshold. A gender quota of one half applies to party lists.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 22,974,347 (July 2010 )
  • Registered Voters: 17,313,854 (March 2008 )
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Taiwan

With Participation Rates