July 26, 2010 Held


Republic of Burundi

Election for Burundian Presidency


Cast Votes:2,739,136
Valid Votes:2,709,941
Invalid Votes:29,195


Pierre NKURUNZIZA2,482,219


More Info:

Burundi: Presidential Election, 26 July 2010

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of the Burundi

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Pierre NKURUNZIZA (since 26 August 2005)
  • Head of Government: President Pierre NKURUNZIZA (since 26 August 2005)
  • Assembly: Burundi has a bicameral Parlement (Parliament) consisting of the Inama Nkenguzamateka (Senate) and the Inama Nshingamateka (National Assembly). The Senate is composed of 43 seats and the National Assembly has 121.

Description of electoral system

  • The president is directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term, with eligibility for a second term.

Last Election:

  • The last presidential election was held on 19 August 2005. Incumbent Pierre NKURUNZIZA was reelected with 94.4% of the vote.

Main candidates in the election[1]:

    • National Council for the Defense of Democracy – Front for the Defense of Democracy (CNDD-FDD)/Conseil National Pour la Défense de la Démocratie–Forces pour la Défense de la Démocratie

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 10,742,276 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 3,553,372 (2010)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 5,397,148 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Burundi a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Burundi ratified CEDAW: Yes (8 January 1992)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[2]

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 62 (37.81%)[3]

·         Human Development Index Position: 184 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Burundi a signatory to CRPD: Yes (26 April 2007)

·         Has Burundi ratified CRPD: Yes (22 May 2014)

·         Population with a disability: 1,611,341


[1] There were additional candidates initially, but they boycotted the election and NKURUNZIZA ran uncontested.

[2] The gender quota requires that at least 30% of the members of the National Assembly be women.

[3] There are 44 women in the National Assembly (36.36%) and 18 women in the Senate (41.86%).