Feb. 3, 2008 Held


Republic of Serbia

Election for Serbian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,580,428
Valid Votes:4,501,622
Invalid Votes:78,806

Vote Share by Candidate:

Boris TADIC2,304,467


Tomislav NIKOLIC2,197,155

Election Results Modified: May 10, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Serbia

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Boris TADIC *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Vojislav KOSTUNICA
  • Assembly: Serbia has a unicameral National Assembly with 250 seats.

* The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term which is renewable once.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly 250 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Boris TADIC
    • Party: Democratic Party (DS)
  • Tomislav NIKOLIC
    • Party: Serbia Radical Party (SRS)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 7,350,222 (2008)
  • Registered Voters: 6,708,697 (2008)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population:3,757,862 (2008)

·         Is Serbia a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Serbia ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (12 May 2001)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 51 (following the 2007 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 66 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Serbia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (17 December 2007)

·         Has Serbia ratified CRPD: Yes (31 July 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 1,102,533 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Serbia

With Participation Rates