Feb. 25, 2007 Held


Republic of Senegal

Election for Senegalese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,472,712
Valid Votes:3,424,926
Invalid Votes:47,786

Vote Share by Candidate:

Ousmane TANOR DIENG445,240.38


Abdoulaye BATHILY-


Robert SAGNA-


Moustapha NIASSE171,246.30000000002


Landing SAVANÉ-


Talla SYLLA-


Idrissa SECK479,489.6400000001


Abdoulaye WADE1,883,709.3

Election Results Modified: Feb 08, 2007

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Senegal

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Abdoulaye WADE *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Cheikh Hadjibou SOUMARE
  • Assembly: Senegal has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 120 seats.

* The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term which is renewable once.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 55 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 65 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Idrissa SECK
    • Party: Rewmi Party
  • Talla SYLLA
    • Party: Jef/Jel Party
  • Ousmane TANOR DIENG
    • Party: Socialist Party (PS)
  • Abdoulaye BATHILY
    • Party: Democratic League-Labor Party Movement (LD/MPT)
  • Abdoulaye WADE
    • Party: Senegalese Democratic Party (PDS)
  • Moustapha NIASSE
    • Party: Alliance of Forces of Progress (AFP)
  • Landing SAVANÉ
    • Party: And-Jef/African Party for Democracy and Socialism (AJ/PADS)
  • Robert SAGNA********
    • Party: Democratic Solidarity

******** Robert SAGNA is a dissident of the formerly ruling Parti Socialiste du Sénégal (PSS). In December 2006, he announced he would run under the banner of the newly-formed Democratic Solidarity party.

Last Presidential election:

  • Presidential elections were last held on election last held on 27 February and March 19, 2000 under prior constitution which provides for a seven-year presidential term. Abdoulaye WADE (PDS) was elected president with 58.5% against Abdou DIOUF (PS) with 41.5%.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 11,897,230 (2007)
  • Registered Voters: 4,917,157 (January 2007 est.)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 6,068,241 (2007)

·         Is Senegal a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (29 July 1980)

·         Has Senegal ratified CEDAW: Yes (5 February 1985)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[2]

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 23 (following the 2001 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 170 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Senegal a signatory to CRPD: Yes (25 April 2007)

·         Has Senegal ratified CRPD: Yes (7 September 2010)

·         Population with a disability: 1,784,584 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Senegal

With Participation Rates