Dec. 14, 2005 Held

Tanzania, United Republic of

United Republic of Tanzania

Election for Tanzanian Presidency


Cast Votes:11,875,927
Valid Votes:11,365,477
Invalid Votes:510,450


Jakaya KIKWETE9,123,952


Ibrahim LIPUMBA1,327,125


Freeman MBOWE668,756


Augustine Lyatonga MREMA84,901


Edmund MVUNGI55,819


Christopher MTIKLA31,083


Emmanuel MAKAIDI21,574


Anne SENKORO18,783


Leonard SHAYO17,070


Peter KYARA16,414


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Tanzania

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Benjamin William MKAPA
  • Head of Government: President Benjamin William MKAPA
  • Assembly: Tanzania has a unicameral National Assembly (Bunge) with 275 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Bunge), 232 members are elected by popular vote to serve 5-year terms, 75 members are allocated for women to serve 5-year terms, 5 members are allocated to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives to serve 5-year terms and 2 members are filled .

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Jakaya KIKWETE
    • Party: Revolutionary Party / Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)
  • Ibrahim LIPUMBA
    • Party: Civic United Front (CUF)
  • Freeman MBOWE
    • Party: Party of Democracy and Development (CHADEMA) / Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo
  • Augustine Lyatonga MREMA
    • Party: Tanzania Labor Party (TLP)
  • Edmund MVUNGI*****
    • Alliance: N/A
  • Christopher MTIKLA
    • Party: Democratic Party
  • Emmanuel MAKAIDI
    • Party: National League for Democracy
  • Anne SENKORO
    • Party: Progress Party of Tanzania
  • Leonard SHAYO
    • Party: Calm Democratic Party / Chama Cha Demokrasia Makini
  • Peter KYARA
    • Party: Voice of People / Sauti Ya Umma

***** United Democratic Party (UDP), Forum for the Restoration of Democracy (Ford), NCCR-Mageuzi, National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA), and United People's Democratic Party.

Last Presidential election:

  • Presidential elections were last held on October 29, 2000. Benjamin William MKAPA was reelected president with 71.7% of the vote against Ibrahim Haruna LIPUMBA (16.3%).

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 39,065,600 (2005)
  • Registered Voters: 16,401,694 (December 2005 est.)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 19,671,083 (2005)

·         Is Tanzania a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Tanzania ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 August 1985)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 97 (following the 2005 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 151 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Tanzania a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Tanzanisa ratified CRPD: Yes (10 November 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 5,859,840 (est.)