Feb. 25, 2001 Held

Cape Verde

Republic of Cabo Verde

Election for Cabo Verdean Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:153,407
Valid Votes:151,639
Invalid Votes:1,768

Vote Share by Candidate:

Pedro PIRES75,828


Carlos VEIGA75,811

Election Results Modified: May 10, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Cape Verde

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho VEIGA
  • Assembly: Cape Verde has a unicameral National Assembly (Assembleia Nacional) with 72 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assembleia Nacional) 72 members are elected by popular vote.

Main Candidates in the Second Round of the Presidential race:

  • Pedro PIRES
    • Party: African Party for the Independence of Cape Verde
  • Carlos VEIGA
    • Party: Movement for Democracy

Last Presidential election:

  • Presidential Elections were last held on February 18, 1996.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 401,343 (July 2000 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 260,275 ( 2002 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 230,998 (2001)

·         Is Cape Verde a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Cape Verde ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (5 December 1980)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 8 (following 2001 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 122 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Cape Verde a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Caper Verde ratified CRPD: Yes (10 October 2011)

·         Population with a disability: 67,103 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Cape Verde

With Participation Rates