Sept. 15, 2013 Held


Macau Special Administrative Region

Election for Região Administrativa Especial de Macau (Chinese Legislative Council (Macau))


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:151,881
Valid Votes:146,453
Invalid Votes:5,428

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

United Citizens Association of Macau (Associação dos Cidadãos Unidos de Macau 澳門民聯協進會) 3 - 26,385


New Hope (Nova Esperança 新希望) 2 - 13,118


Macau-Guangdong Union (União de Macau-Guangdong 澳粵同盟) 2 - 16,248


New Macau Association (Associação de Macau Novo 新澳門學社) 2 - 23,039


Union for Promoting Progress (União Promotora Para o Progresso 群力促進會) 2 - 15,816


Alliance for Change (Aliança Pr'a Mudança 改革創新聯盟) 1 - 8,755


Union for Development (União Para O Desenvolvimento 同心協進會) 1 - 11,961


New Union for Macau's Development (Nova União para Desenvolvimento de Macau 澳門發展新連盟) 1 - 13,086

Election Results Modified: Aug 14, 2013

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 33 seats in the Legislative Council (Região Administrativa Especial de Macau)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President of China XI Jinping
  • Head of Government: Chief Executive Fernando CHUI Sai-On **
  • Assembly: Macau has a unicameral Legislative Council (Região Administrativa Especial de Macau) with 33 seats.

** The Electoral College will increase to 400 seats for the 2014 Chief Executive election.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President of China is elected by the National People's Congress to serve a 5-year term.
  • Chief Executive is elected by an electoral college to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Legislative Council (Região Administrativa Especial de Macau), 14 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms, 12 members are elected by special interest groups to serve 4-year terms and 7 members are appointed by the chief executive to serve 4-year terms.***

*** An electoral college represents special interest group (professional organizations and economic constituencies). It elects ten members under a closed-list PR system in one nationwide district. Electoral reform measures were passed in 2012, which increased the size of the Legislative Council from 29 to 33. The number of geographic constituency seats increased from 12 to 14, and the number Functional Constituency seats increased from 10 to 12.

Main parties in the electoral race:

* The AMN is split into three electoral lists, which will contest the geographical constituency elections. The lists are the New Democratic Macau Association / Associação de Novo Macau Democrática 民主昌澳門, the Prosporous Democratic Macau Association / Associação de Próspero Macau Democrático 民主昌澳門, and the New Macau Liberals / Liberais da Nova Macau 自由新澳門.
** Along with the AMN, the NE is part of the pan-democracy camp in the Macanese Legislative Assembly. All other parties are part of the pan-establishment camp.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 568,056 (2013)
  • Registered Voters: 276,034 (September 2013)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 294,859 (2013)

·         Is Macau a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Macau ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 7 (following the 2013 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Macau a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Macau ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 85,208 (est.)


Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Macau

With Participation Rates