Dec. 12, 2011 Held

Pitcairn Islands

Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands

Election for Pitcairn Islands Island Council


Cast Votes:45
Valid Votes:45
Invalid Votes:0


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents 4 45


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 4 seats in the Island Council

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Governor Mike WARREN
  • Assembly: Pitcairn Islands has a unicameral Island Council with 10 seats.

* The Queen is represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Victoria M. TREADELL

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Governor is elected by plurality vote to serve a 3-year term.
  • In the Island Council, 4 members are elected by single non-transferable vote to serve 1-year terms and 2 members are filled ex officio.***

*** 4 members are elected by single non-transferable vote, 2 members sit ex officio (the Mayor and the Chairman of the Island Council, both of whom are directly elected), 1 is nominated by the four elected members and the Council Chairman, 2 are appointed by the colonial governor, and 1 is reserved for a commissioner lasing between the governor and the Council. Apart from the Mayor, who serves a three-year term, and the Island Secretary, whose term is indefinite, all councilors serve one-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Independent(s): Independents*

* There are no political parties in the Pitcairn Islands, as there are less than 50 residents of the territory.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 48 (July 2011 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 45 (December 2010 )

Elections in Pitcairn Islands