Nov. 7, 2011 Held

Virgin Islands, British

British Virgin Islands

Election for British Virgin Islands House of Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:9,186
Valid Votes:9,186
Invalid Votes:0

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Democratic Party 9 - 4,492


Virgin Islands Party 4 - 3,981


Independents - - 713

Election Results Modified: Oct 27, 2011

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 13 seats in the Legislative Council

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ralph O'NEAL
  • Assembly: British Virgin Islands has a unicameral Legislative Council with 13 seats.

* The queen is represented by Governor Boyd MCCLEARY.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Legislative Council 13 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Of the 13 members, one member is elected from each of 9 electoral districts and there are four at-large members.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: National Democratic Party
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Party: Virgin Islands Party
    • Seats won in last election: 10
  • Independent(s): Independents
    • Seats won in last election: 1

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 25,383 (July 2011 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 13,352 (November 2011 est.)
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Virgin Islands, British

With Participation Rates