Jan. 9, 2010 Held


Republic of China

Election for Taiwanese Legislative Yuan


Cast Votes:251,923
Valid Votes:250,138
Invalid Votes:1,785


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Progressive Party 3 - 140,158


Kuomintang Party - - 109,980


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 3 seats in the Legislative Yuan

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President MA Ying-jeou
  • Head of Government: Premier WU Den-yih
  • Assembly: Taiwan has a unicameral Legislative Yuan with 113 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Legislative Yuan, 73 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms, 34 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms and 6 members are elected by single non-transferable vote to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Each voter has two votes: one in a single-member constituency or in one of two three-member constituencies representing indigenous groups (highland or lowland); one for a party list. Proportional representation seats are allocated nationwide with a 5 percent threshold. A gender quota of one half applies to party lists.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Kuomintang Party (KMT)
    • Leader: MA Ying-jeou
    • Seats won in last election: 81
  • Party: Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
    • Leader: TSAI Ing-wen
    • Seats won in last election: 27

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 23,109,141 (November 2009 Source: Government of Taiwan)
  • Registered Voters: 618,831 (January 2009 Total for Taoyuan county, Taichung county and Taidung county.)