Oct. 20, 2009 Held


Republic of Niger

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Nigerien National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,106,833
Valid Votes:3,005,914
Invalid Votes:100,919

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Movement for the Society of Development (French: Mouvement National pour la Société du Développement) 76 - -

Social Democratic Rally (Rassemblement social démocratique-Gaskiya) 15 - -

Independents 11 - -

Rally for Democracy and Progress (Rassemblement pour la Démocratie et le Progrès-Jama'a) 7 - -

Union of Independent Nigeriens (Union des Nigériens Indépendants) 1 - -

Nigerien Self-Management Party (Parti Nigérien pour l’Autogestion-Al'ouma) 1 - -

Rally of Nigerien Patriots (Rassemblement des Patriotes Nigériens-Al Kalami) 1 - -

Workers' Movement Party-Albarka (Parti des masses pour le travail-Albarka) 1 - -

Party for Socialism and Democracy in Niger (Parti pour le socialisme et la démocratie au Niger-Alheri) - - -

Election Results Modified: Jan 26, 2010

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 113 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mamadou TANDJA *
  • Head of Government: President TANDJA Mamadou
  • Assembly: Niger has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 113 seats.

* The electoral system is two-round.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 105 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 8 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

*** In the ordinal tier, the threshold is 5 percent. There are 8 multi-seat districts corresponding to the country's eight regions plus Niamey. In the nominal tier, 8 single-seat districts are drawn to favor recognized minority groups.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 15,672,194 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 6,059,961 (2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 7,786,106 (2009)

·         Is Niger a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Niger ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (8 October 1999)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 11 (following the 2009 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 188 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Niger a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Niger ratified CRPD: Yes (24 June 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 2,350,829 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Niger

With Participation Rates