May 19, 2009 Held


Republic of Malawi

Election for Malawian National Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,164,240
Valid Votes:3,023,498
Invalid Votes:140,742

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Progressive Party 113

Independents (Independents) 33

Malawi Congress Party 27

United Democratic Front 17

Alliance for Democracy 1

Malawi Forum for Unity and Development (Malawi Forum for Unity and Development) 1

Maravi People's Party (Maravi People's Party) 1

Election Results Modified: Aug 01, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 193 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Bingu wa MUTHARIKA
  • Head of Government: President Bingu wa MUTHARIKA
  • Assembly: Malawi has a unicameral National Assembly with 193 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly 193 members are elected by plurality vote to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
    • Leader: Bingu wa MUTHARIKA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Malawi Congress Party (MCP)
    • Leader: John TEMBO
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Alliance For Democracy (AFORD)
    • Leader: Dindi NYASULU
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: People's Transformation Party (PETRA)
    • Leader: Kamuzu CHIBAMBO
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Alliance: National Rainbow Coalition (NARC)
    • Leader: Loveness GONDWE
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Republican Party (RP)
    • Leader: Stanley MASAULI
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: United Democratic Front (UDF)
    • Leader: Bakili MULUZI
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: People's Progressive Movement (PPM)
    • Leader: Mark KATSONGA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 14,329,056 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 5,870,819 (2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 7,194,068 (2009)

·         Is Malawi a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Malawi ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (12 March 1987)

·         Gender Quota: No, but there are political parties with voluntary gender quotas

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 41 (following the 2009 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 173 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Malawi a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 September 2007)

·         Has Malawi ratified CRPD: Yes (27 August 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 2,149,358 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Malawi

With Participation Rates