March 10, 2009 Held

Micronesia, Federated States of

Federated States Of Micronesia

Election for Micronesian Congress


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:42,280
Valid Votes:42,280
Invalid Votes:0

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Non-partisans 10 - 42,280

Election Results Modified: Apr 21, 2011

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 10 seats in the Congress

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Emanuel MORI
  • Head of Government: President Emanuel MORI
  • Assembly: Micronesia has a unicameral Congress with 14 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is indirectly elected by the congress to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Congress, 4 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms and 10 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 2-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Independent(s): Non-partisans*
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 10

* Micronesia has no established political parties.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 103,961 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 92,573 (March 2007)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 50,931 (2009)

·         Is Micronesia a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Micronesia ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (1 September 2004)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: N/A

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 0

·         Human Development Index Position: 123 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Micronesia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (23 September 2011)

·         Has Micronesia ratified CRPD: No

·         Population with a disability: 15,594 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Micronesia, Federated States of

With Participation Rates