June 16, 2003 Held

Virgin Islands, British

British Virgin Islands

Election for British Virgin Islands House of Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:7,362
Valid Votes:7,276
Invalid Votes:86

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Democratic Party 8 - 3,390


Virgin Islands Party 5 - 3,799

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 13 seats in the Legislative Council

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II*
  • Head of Government: Chief Minister Ralph T. O'Neal
  • Assembly: British Virgin Islands has a unicameral Legislative Council with 15 seats.

* The queen is represented by Governor Boyd MCCLEARY.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Premier is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Legislative Council, 9 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms, 4 members are elected in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 2 members are filled ex officio to serve 4-year terms.**

** Of the 13 members, one member is elected from each of 9 electoral districts and there are four at-large members. Each voter has 5 votes. The Speaker and Attorney General serve ex officio.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: National Democratic Party (NDP)
    • Leader: Orlando Smith
    • Seats won in last election: 5
    • Seats won in this election: 8
  • Party: Virgin Islands Party (VIP)
    • Leader: Ralph T. O'Neal
    • Seats won in last election: 7
    • Seats won in this election: 5

Last parliamentary election:

  • The last election to the Legislative Council was held on May 17, 1999.

Population and voter registration:

  • Population: 22,187 (July 2004 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 10,180 (2003)
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Virgin Islands, British

With Participation Rates