March 30, 2003 Held


Republic of Benin

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Beninese National Assembly)


Cast Votes:1,724,093
Valid Votes:1,486,274
Invalid Votes:237,819


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

African Movement for Democracy and Progress 9 None

Democratic Renewal Party 11 None

Party for the Rebirth of Benin 15 None

Union of Tomorrow’s Benin 31 None

Key Force 5 None

MDC-PS-CPP Alliance 2 None

Impetus for Progress and Democracy 2 None

New Alliance 2 None

Alliance for Progressive Forces 1 None

Movement for Development and Solidarity 1 None

Rally for Democracy and Progress 1 None

Star Alliance 3 None

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 83 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mathieu KEREKOU
  • Head of Government: President Mathieu KEREKOU
  • Assembly: Benin has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) with 83 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) 83 members are elected by direct popular vote to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Alliance: Union for Future Benin / Union pour le Bénin du futur
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 31
  • Party: African Union for Development and Progress / Mouvement africain pour la dévelloppement et le progrès (MADEP)
    • Leader: Antoine Idji KOLAWOLÉ
    • Seats won in last election: 6
    • Seats won in this election: 9
  • Party: Key Force / Force clé
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 5
  • Alliance: Movement for Development by the Culture - Salute Party - Congress of People for Progress Alliance (MDC-PS-CPP)
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 2
  • Party: Benin Rebirth Party / Parti de la renaissance du Bénin
    • Seats won in last election: 27
    • Seats won in this election: 15
  • Party: Democratic Renewal Party / Parti du renouveau démocratique
    • Seats won in last election: 11
    • Seats won in this election: 11
  • Other Parties
    • Seats won in this election: 10

Last parliamentary election:

  • The last National Assembly election was held on March 30, 1999.

Population and registered voters:

  • Population: 7,872,000 (2003 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 3,084,422 (2003)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 3,886,781 (2003)

·         Is Benin a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (11 November 1981)

·         Has Benin ratified CEDAW: Yes (12 March 1992)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 6 (following 2003 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 166 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Benin a signatory to CRPD: Yes (8 February 2008)

·         Has Benin ratified CRPD: Yes (5 July 2012)

·         Population with a disability: 1,180,800 (est.)