June 26, 2001 Held


Republic of Uganda

Election for Parliament (Ugandan National Assembly)

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 214 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI
  • Head of Government: President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI
  • Assembly: Uganda has a unicameral National Assembly with 292 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly, 214 members are elected by simple majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 81 members are elected by special interest groups to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the parliamentary election:

  • Independents*
    • Seats won in this election: 214

*On 29 June 2000, Ugandans approved a referendum that established a non-partisan political system.

Last Parliamentary election:

  • Parliamentary elections were last held on June 27, 1996; 214 seats were decided.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 24,534,668 (2001)
  • Registered Voters: 10,775,836 (2001)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 12,334,598 (2001)

·         Is Uganda a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (30 July 1980)

·         Has Uganda ratified CEDAW: Yes (22 July 1985)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 75 (following the 2001 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 163 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Uganda a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Uganda ratified CRPD: Yes (25 September 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 3,680,200 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Uganda

With Participation Rates