June 16, 1999 Held

Cook Islands

Cook Islands

Election for Cook Islands Parliament


Cast Votes:9,430
Valid Votes:9,430
Invalid Votes:0


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Alliance Party 10 -

Cook Islands Party 11 -

New Alliance Party 4 -

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 24 seats in the Parliament

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Jim MARURAI
  • Assembly: Cook Islands has a unicameral Parliament with 24 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Frederick GOODWIN; New Zealand High Commissioner Linda TE PUNI

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • The Prime Minister is designated by the monarch.**
  • In the Parliament 24 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

** The leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually becomes prime minister.

*** Ten MPs are from the main island of Rarotonga and the rest are from the outer islands.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Alliance: Democratic Alliance Party (DP)
    • Leader: Terepai Tuamure MAOATE
    • Seats won in this election: 10
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: Cook Islands Party (CIP)
    • Leader: Geoffrey Arama HENRY
    • Seats won in this election: 11
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Party: New Alliance Party
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 4
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: N/A
  • Registered Voters: N/A ( Voter registry unavailable)