State of Eritrea

5,309,659 0

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Eritrean National Assembly Hagerawi Baito Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President ISAIAS Afworki
  • Head of Government: President ISAIAS Afworki
  • Assembly: Eritrea has a unicameral National Assembly (Hagerawi Baito) with 150 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Hagerawi Baito), 75 members are indirectly elected by the ruling party and 75 members are elected by popular vote.***

*** The elections scheduled for December 2001 have been postponed indefinitely. The National Assembly consists of 75 members from the Central Committee of the ruling PFDJ and 75 representatives from the general population, of which 11 must be women and 15 must represent the Eritrean diaspora.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out

Voter Turnout