Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands

63,129 4

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Cayman Legislative Assembly Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Premier Alden MCLAUGHLAN
  • Assembly: Cayman Islands has a unicameral Legislative Assembly with 18 seats.

* Represented by Governor Helen KILPATRICK since 6 September 2013.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Premier is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Legislative Assembly, 18 members are elected by block vote to serve 4-year terms and 2 seats are reserved for the deputy governor and attorney general, both appointed by the governor. All members serve 4-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Cayman Legislative Assembly 2005-05-11 10,527 13,118 80.25%
Cayman Legislative Assembly 2013-05-22 14,760 18,492 79.82%
Cayman Legislative Assembly 2017-05-24 15,721 21,228 74.06%
Cayman Legislative Assembly 2021-05-26 - - -

Voter Turnout