Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam

439,336 0

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Bruneian Legislative Council Majlis Mesyuarat Negara Brunei Assembly
Sultan and Prime Minister Sultan and Prime Minister Head of State

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Sultan and Prime Minister Sir HASSANAL Bolkiah
  • Head of Government: Sultan and Prime Minister Sir HASSANAL Bolkiah
  • Assembly: Brunei has a unicameral Legislative Council (Majlis Mesyuarat Negara Brunei) with 36 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Sultan and Prime Minister is hereditary.
  • In the Legislative Council (Majlis Mesyuarat Negara Brunei), 33 members are appointed by the Sultan and 3 members are designated ex officio.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out

Voter Turnout